The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > Console Specifics > Microsoft Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2004, 11:53 PM   #1
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,399
First X box screens of DOOM 3

http://gamepro.com/microsoft/xbox/ga...ws/33849.shtml

theres supposed to be 3....I can only get one to load.....enjoy!!
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 02-29-2004, 01:26 AM   #2
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,207
The sad thing is, if these weren't said to be offical, I'd think it was a cheap halo mod.

I mean really, WTF is up with the character model?

Well, We all knew this game was gonna be pretty, but far from original.
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 05:47 AM   #3
TheHardware
The Moment..
 
TheHardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bronx Samurai
Posts: 3,683
looks good...really good...im happy as i wasnt gonna get (the best version the pc version)..so the xbox version is good enough ..im getting it for sure
__________________
There is one place that you have not looked and it is there, only there that you shall find the master.
TheHardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 05:50 AM   #4
Escaflowne2001
... ... ... ...
 
Escaflowne2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Thetford, Norfolk, England
Posts: 16,449
Looks good, was gonna get it anyhow but still...
Escaflowne2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 11:11 AM   #5
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
http://pcmedia.ign.com/pc/image/doom32.jpg

Thats a screen from the PC version showing the same room from what I can see. At least it looks like a bathroom and its got the same fat character. You can see the textures are lower res and also the sink looks way different int he XBox version. Not as shiny or smooth. I wish the PC screen would show the wall though so we could compare it alot better.

Still looks quite good. Though I wonder why that ammo bar is so fat and big and in your face. Should be in the corner of the screen and slimmer.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 01:27 PM   #6
Dead Account 01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 883
That's what happens when you do a low-res port of a high-res game.

Anyway, looks decent enough, I suppose (nothing compared to the PC version, but that could change).
Dead Account 01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 01:46 PM   #7
aneep
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 900
yeah the lower res textures really stands out, can't do much more than that with 64 meg shared (with game codes, audio, etc) i guess

other than that, some aspect pretty much identical (lighting), poly count looks lower (well comparable to old shots, not the new 2003 ones)

still looks quite good though, just this shot is not so exciting or impressive in anyway, showing that multiplayer level would be better, with all the particle effets

-aneep-
aneep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 02:06 PM   #8
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
Multiplayer... Hadn't thought of that one.. I think multiplayer will defiately kill the system. Anyone recall how in some games the graphics for multiplayer is even lower then the single person mode? I forget which ones. Smarter people can recall them.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 08:26 AM   #9
Seska
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I thought Carmack mentioned Doom3 will be singleplayer only - mostly because the engine in its current state couldnt handle multiplayer matches with more than 4 people in it.

That was a while back, dunno if they changed their plans by now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 12:12 PM   #10
jeremy_aerts
Registered User
 
jeremy_aerts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Powers
Posts: 467
That's changed, it's still single player focused, but there are some screenshots showing the mulitplayer aspect of it.

Also, the PC version smokes the xbox version's graphics.
__________________
*~jeremy~*
jeremy_aerts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 07:28 PM   #11
thesoftware6180
The forsaken
 
thesoftware6180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: upper darby (PA)
Posts: 1,240
as expected the pc version looks a lot better,the xbox version looks good tho,alucard that pc screen make the xbox version look real bad.

il be getting the pc version,hey alucard quick question,how good is a geforce fx 5200 graphics card,can it run doom 3 ?
__________________
Do I always talk this much?
No.. not always, but often.
thesoftware6180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 08:03 PM   #12
gearhound1
Banned
 
gearhound1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy_aerts


Also, the PC version smokes the xbox version's graphics.
like that is a big surprise... it really isn't that much better looking.

thesoftware-- yes, it would run doom 3. it is, after all, 128 mb.

Last edited by gearhound1; 03-01-2004 at 08:08 PM.
gearhound1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 08:24 PM   #13
thesoftware6180
The forsaken
 
thesoftware6180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: upper darby (PA)
Posts: 1,240
gearhound u know what i meant to ask is how well will it run it? will it be good enough so i dont have to upgrade,

my computer specs:
intel celeron 2.20ghz,os:xp,memory 384ddr and directx 9.0,with the geforce fx 5200 of course.
thesoftware6180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004, 08:41 PM   #14
gearhound1
Banned
 
gearhound1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,955
384 ddr? you should be ok, but alucard could help you better than i could.
gearhound1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 01:25 AM   #15
aneep
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 900
skip fx 5200 and go for radeon 9600, it will be faster and look better

have the moolah go for the new fx (or the old 5800) or radeon 9800

fx 5200 is a rip on customers expecting geforce fx performance for cheap, its even slower than radeon 9200 (which is not dx 9 compliant) in some cases

yeah its confirmed xbox version will also have mutiplayer on Live as well as Live co op

and i have seen some more screens from a german mag scan, the xbox version looks good enough (comparable to when doom 3 was 1st unveiled to 2002 e3 shots)
pc version will always have the advantage of course (higher poly, etc), i mean what do u expect for a half breed gf4 (2 vertex shaders) with 64 megs shared mem versus fx/radeon with how many vertex shaders and 128 megs of ram)?

-aneep-
aneep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.