The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2003, 08:32 AM   #1
Seska
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Silent Storm

I dont think this game is getting anywhere NEAR as much press as it should. ITs been a long time since I ahve had as much fun with a turn based strategy game - hell, I hope they make expansion packs and similar games because this one is a beauty.

If only some developer were wise enough to use the combat engine in this game and mixed it with an Xcom like base developing and weapon/enemy researching elements, then they would have the perfect game on their hands.

And you can blow it all up! If you ahve a sniper on the corner of a building and you dont have the accuracy to hit him, blow out the corner on the street level with the grenade and the support for the upper floors will collaps, and the sniper falls! I jsut love the physics and ragdoll effects, thoug the limbs do sometimes move in a disjointed manner. ITs jsut immensely satysfying to snipe an enemy soldier and see the killing bullet fling him crashing back through a window and across a table. Mm!

Death to RTS games. I want more of this! :p
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 08:40 AM   #2
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905
Re: Silent Storm

Quote:
Originally posted by Seska
ITs jsut immensely satysfying to snipe an enemy soldier and see the killing bullet fling him crashing back through a window and across a table. Mm!

Uhuuu... Get of the crack there weirdo... *backs away slowly*

So any pics?!
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 09:02 AM   #3
Seska
Guest
 
Posts: n/a






ITs a delight how each bullet has a n impact on the ingame world. Shoot through a door and the bullet will punch a hole through it and knock over the table at the other side. Ie ven managed once to shoot two guys with a single bullet! Too abd they dont often line up like that. At the point I am in now of the game, tis starting to feel a lot like Front Mission. A WW2 sorta front mission!

The game is lovely for Xcom and JAged Alience fans - Snap shot, aimed shot, careful shop, sniping shot, long burst, short burst - the game has it all!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 09:06 AM   #4
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905
Careful shop eh? You ge the "protection" there, huh? :p

So, whut are the system requirments? Looks nice, and I need some PC games.
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 09:09 AM   #5
Seska
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I ahve no idea, if you still ahve your P3 450mhz liek machine it will probably not be enough. The only drawback of the game is the clunky engine it uses, even on my machine it chugs considerably where theres a lot going on at the same time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 09:28 AM   #6
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905
By P3 450mhz liek machines you also mean P3 700mhz machines?

So how good is your comp?
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 09:41 AM   #7
Seska
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Theres a demo out for Silent storm, you can grab it from 3dgames or avault to try ut how well it runs on your PC.

My Pc is a 2.4 gig Athlon Xp, 512 ram, GF4 4600ti. ;)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 09:54 AM   #8
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905
I always though ADSL was supposed to be fast... but this bloody thing takes 1 hours and 40 minutes to download!
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 11:55 AM   #9
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905
Lol, here's Demos recommended System requirements from Readme:

Code:
PC, Windows 98/ME/2000/XP, DirectX 9.0 or higher 
	CPU 2200 MHz 
	512 MB RAM 
	AGP 3D accelerator, 128 MB onboard video RAM (nVidia GeForceFX/Radeon 9700 Pro
	compatible or better) 
	Mouse 
	Sound card 
	CD-ROM 
	500 MB of free hard drive space plus about 500 MB for Windows swap file and save
	games
I barely get the minimum requirements:
Code:
PC, Windows 98/ME/2000/XP, DirectX 9.0 or higher 
	CPU 600 MHz 
	128 MB RAM 
	AGP 3D accelerator, 32 MB onboard video RAM 
	(nVidia GeForce2MX compatible or better) 
	Mouse 
	Sound card 
	CD-ROM 
	500 MB of free hard drive space plus about 500 MB for Windows swap file and save 
	games
So the full game seems to be out of the question for me. And now I have to make a hard decision, play the Demo or study for the Philosophy exam tomorrow. And by "Hard" I meant hard until I realized I wasen't going to read anyway, let's see does this demo work...

EDIT: WTF? When I try to run the demo, it says some DLL file D3D9.DLL cannot be found! Argh! 200MB of download ruined! ARRRGH!!

Last edited by Nindalf; 11-20-2003 at 11:59 AM.
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 12:10 PM   #10
Seska
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Dude, that just means you aint got DX9 installed. :p
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 12:11 PM   #11
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905
What a heck is that?
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 12:35 PM   #12
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
Bloody nintendo kid!! Go play with your catridges!
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 12:38 PM   #13
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905
Shut up pc wh0re!!! I want to play this demo but you lot won't tell me what a heck is a DX9, like I know your geeky computer talk!!!
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 01:04 PM   #14
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
bah, its like trying to teach a cat to ride a bike... DX9 is something you install on your PC, sorta like drivers. It'll be on any of the new PC games that came out this year. And some from last year I think. If you have any recent PC games then check. Alot of games have Direct X listed as an installation item. Otherwise go to microsofts homepage and download it!
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 01:17 PM   #15
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,905


I did that thingy and installed DX9(I think...) And it still says file not found! ARGH!
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.