The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > Console Specifics > Sony Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2002, 11:03 AM   #1
menetas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
BroadBand / Dial up on PS2

Broadband service is way too expensive where I live...
Also, my ping rate is so damn slow.. when i play on my Linux PC... RTCW for example...
I used to play PSO v1, i had great time and transmission was good... What can i expect on FFXI??? if i can't get myself a broadband service?

cheers!
  Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 04-18-2002, 01:41 PM   #2
Pikachu
Registered User
 
Pikachu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 238
Re: BroadBand / Dial up on PS2

Quote:
Originally posted by menetas
Broadband service is way too expensive where I live...
Also, my ping rate is so damn slow.. when i play on my Linux PC... RTCW for example...
I used to play PSO v1, i had great time and transmission was good... What can i expect on FFXI??? if i can't get myself a broadband service?

cheers!
Final Fantasy XI is fully compatible with narrowband, even when it was in the beta-testing stage last year.
Pikachu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2002, 12:11 AM   #3
blank
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i played tony hawk3 online for a few months using a usb network adapter and everything went just fine. the only difference was the amount of people one could have on a server. broadband allowed 4 dial up only 3. i dont think that'll be a problem for ffx1 or any other online game.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2002, 01:47 PM   #4
FRDrizzt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 20
In Japan if you have narrowband you just need the HD to play FFXI, and that may be the case to play other games, becasue it would be quicker to cache the data than to pull it off the network.
FRDrizzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 12:43 AM   #5
Rubeus
Registered User
 
Rubeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,259
Quote:
Originally posted by FRDrizzt
In Japan if you have narrowband you just need the HD to play FFXI, and that may be the case to play other games, becasue it would be quicker to cache the data than to pull it off the network.
I thought you don't need the HDD if you have narrowband, you don't need to download anything from the net, all the game files are in the 2 DVDs provided (PlayOnline Starter Kit and FFXI). It is just like Phantasy Star Online for Dreamcast.
Rubeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 10:49 AM   #6
menetas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
whats a narrowband???
ive heard about PS2 HDD... never about a "narrowband"...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2002, 06:46 PM   #7
FRDrizzt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 20
Narrowband means a dial-up connection; not broadband.
FRDrizzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 06:17 PM   #8
Vicviper
Hello handsome!
 
Vicviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,081
I will be going broadband forsure.
I missed out on the Broadband Adapter for the Dreamcast so I was stuck playing Quake 3 and PSO using dial up and it sucked. I was disconnected every 15 minutes.
You should try Cable modem. I've been using it and unless you are doing a lot of uploading than I think it's better than DSL
Vicviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 06:26 PM   #9
Overlord
Akuma to odorou
 
Overlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: You're All Beneath Me.
Posts: 2,049
Narrowband.

Narrowband is supported, but they won't get all the same features as brondband users. Such as in TM:B online. Broadband users can have a battle with 8 players at once. But for Narrowbrand, only 2 at a time will be supported.

...Thats the only game I know right now with the drawbacks.
__________________

We seem to have juxtaposed an impasse here.
Overlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2002, 09:20 PM   #10
kaiser_z
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
lucky me, i set up my home network 1 week ago, and my ps2 is just drooling to get a piece of my dsl pie (although it will have to fight with 3 other of my computers, but it should still go way fast)
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2002, 06:48 PM   #11
menetas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
so what are my choices?
narrowband - just two players online?
broadband - lots of players online
dsl?? - what about this
cable modem - ????
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2002, 07:04 PM   #12
Overlord
Akuma to odorou
 
Overlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: You're All Beneath Me.
Posts: 2,049
Dial-ups

So far only TM:B online is affected by differant online speeds.

...Narrowbrand is anything 56K and lower. Broadbrand is DSl, Cable, T1-2-3 etc. Anything faster than 56K.
__________________

We seem to have juxtaposed an impasse here.
Overlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 01:41 PM   #13
menetas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
damn,
DSL service is like $40 US bucks per month in here...
how much is per month in the US???
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 04:12 PM   #14
pfk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
it costs me 45can$ a month here in quebec and i have a 10$ a month rebate!!!

can't wait to make my ps2 contribuate to that
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 06:03 PM   #15
menetas
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
damn, is really expensive just to play...
i guess i cant afford that..
ill go ask for prices, i heard cable ISP wasn't that expensive... is that good??
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.