The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,130
having internet connection problems.

For some reason, nothing that uses the internet wants to work but for some reason, I can still access this site.

I've tried changing the cords, using my other computers, using a wireless adapter, doing a virus scan, all nothing!

It works for a bit and crashes on me, it's just the internet, nothing wrong with my computer and just started doing it this afternoon.

It's not the modem or router cause I other things on it and they all work fine and yes I did hook up the computer to the modem directly.

Could there be a windows 7 problem that is causing it?
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 04-20-2012, 04:22 PM   #2
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
The only website you can visit is this one?
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:27 PM   #3
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,130
There are others, but nothing useful.

This is only happening on this computer I'm using right now. My ipod touch works, my 3ds works and my ps3 all work just fine on the internet. I just tried those out now also.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:53 PM   #4
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,130
I just did a system restore and nothing, still doing it, but it's a lot better now, I can access more websites.
I might have to reformat and see if that fixes the problem. I'm also wondering if there isn't anything wrong hardware wise and maybe it's just my ISP being shitty.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:56 PM   #5
justin_credible
Registered User
 
justin_credible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,270
Yeah you may want to call your ISP's tech support. I'd do that before posting on magicbox forums.

COME ON SPIDEY, GET WITH IT!
justin_credible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:00 PM   #6
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,130
I hate wasting time on tech support for something that might be stupid and common and fixed just by asking one thing that you might not know but someone else does.

I just checked their website for tech support........ oh yah I think it's them, their entire site just changed their look. So I'm wondering if their overhaul to their site is causing connection issues. I usually check their site for new channel listings cause I get everything though them and it wasn't changed the last time I checked.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:02 PM   #7
justin_credible
Registered User
 
justin_credible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,270


Pick up that phone it's the answer to all of yours question lol.
justin_credible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:07 PM   #8
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,130
GAH! IT's BUSY! They have over a 2 hour wait time.......... I guess that answers my question. But everything is running fine now. So I think it is for sure them.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:15 PM   #9
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
I'm guessing you've tried using multiple browsers? You say your ipad etc work while using it so I dont see how it can be a isp issue if it works on separate devices.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:18 PM   #10
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,130
I was wrong about that, it's starting to get the same problems now.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:46 PM   #11
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
I would bet it's your isp. Or maybe your router/modem is dying.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:55 PM   #12
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,130
I hope not, it's brand new.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:01 PM   #13
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Check the setup info on your ISPs help pages. I recall my isp changed their IP settings and I had the old ones still in my router, which ended up fixing a few issues. Either way its most likely your isp acting stupid at the moment. Keep calling them. In the meantime I recommend the pot mod. It will improve your connection.



Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:09 PM   #14
justin_credible
Registered User
 
justin_credible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,270
What the heck is a pot mod? Will it make my internet connection be more than what I'm paying for? i.e. I'm paying for 1.5 mb download it would make it more? Got a link on how to do it?
justin_credible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:27 PM   #15
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Put a pot next to your pc connected by an ethernet cable and you will suddenly have a faster connection and ping. The pot is fully heated up so as the data streams through the pc to the pot, it moves faster through the cable.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.