The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 05:29 AM   #1
FinalSolace2
IRAQ- Please assimilate forget past
 
FinalSolace2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london
Posts: 4,341
Help laptop completely bricked, HD inaccessable, any advice?

OMG,

Using my cousins laptop that he has left for my aunt me and uncle to use, he lives in dubai

It looks as though its contracted a virus.

The worst part is that he created 2 users before he left, his and a Guest,

My uncle has forgotten that password, and getting back to him will now be a problem.


The HDD has become inaccessable although the desktop boots, mcaffee runs and windows 7 anti virus but neither are full versions, and I have no access to admin user functions.

Its says ram is currupted, memory is corrupted,

What can be done?

Is there a way to by pass the administrator and install an antivirus software,

the software already on there says passwords and credit card details are stolen, (I don't know if credit cards havebeen used on the laptop)

This is really bugging me now, as I havnt delt with this sort of problem for years
__________________


Crowfoot (American Blackfoot Indian Orator) on his deathbed:"What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset."
FinalSolace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 01-16-2012, 05:50 AM   #2
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Take it to a store and have them clean it for you. Sounds like way too much crap to go through on forum help. Seriously. Will take forever going through a dozen programs, backways of doing stuff, and searching registry files.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 05:54 AM   #3
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,129
how can credit card details get stolen, unless someone hacked you and you made txt files of them on your computer. Barely, if any sites uses cookies to store your credit card information. That's like 1995 shit.

passwords, sure, can get stolen cause most are stored in the cookies, which is why you have to delete every once in a while.

But if you actually do think CC info did get stolen somehow, cancel that shit.

Change passwords and then reformat the entire drive and reinstall everything again, ie Windows 7 and other stuff like your drivers.

Don't use mcfee anymore, it's shit, just use microsoft's free Anti virus. MS Security Essentials. Works fine, doesn't bog down the computer.

and if you're not always going onto sites with "WareZ" and downloading stuff for "free" and getting "porNZ" you won't really get viruses. The only time I got a virus is when a stupid popup that gets though contains one, but MS's Anti virus always gets it right away.


If you are still getting problems after reformatting, you might have to change the RAM inside the laptop. There are programs that let you access the HDD even if it's damaged, so if you don't want to reformat that drive, take it out and get another and install a fresh install of Win7 on there and then just get a external enclosure for the old HDD and try and get files you need from it.


edit, just do what alucard said, might be easier for you.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:21 AM   #4
Icarus4578
Deal with it.
 
Icarus4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider-prime View Post
Don't use mcfee anymore, it's shit, just use microsoft's free Anti virus. MS Security Essentials. Works fine, doesn't bog down the computer.
I recommend Avast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider-prime
and if you're not always going onto sites with "WareZ" and downloading stuff for "free" and getting "porNZ" you won't really get viruses.
^ This.
__________________
Turn on the difference.
Icarus4578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:27 AM   #5
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
Avast is good, yeah. I use Kaspersky. But honestly, just AVG Free or Security Essentials will do you fine.

Spider-prime has the right idea; being careful about what you download and where you go is the best form of anti-virus. Don't download off any site you're not sure about, just like you wouldn't buy anything from a dodgy looking website. I've never gotten a virus by just being careful. So I'd just go for AVG if I was you. Works great.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:26 PM   #6
justin_credible
Registered User
 
justin_credible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,270
I have a Dell Inspiron 1525, it had a 3 year warrantee with no problems during the 3 years. Well about one week after the 3 years is up (of course) it powers off and gives me the blue screen of death and won't boot. I tried everything to no avail. So I take it to have it looked it and they replace the harddrive. Well that new hd lasts about a week and then IT crashes. I kept taking back to the repair place and they kept putting new hds, but now this is the 4th one that's done it. It always works perfect then freezes and reboots and won't boot. I tried chkdsk and fixmbr and all of those, trust me I've tried everything. How can brand new hds crash like that? Is it a hardware issue (that the repair place is unable to find) ?
justin_credible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:56 PM   #7
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
If they're replacing it with the same exact model drive then maybe that line is stuffed. Or, what I think is the proper explanation, they're using the same HDD and not replacing it. They'll install windows and then do some tests and see how it runs. If it acts ok they hand it back to you. Boom, problem still there. Write down the serial number next time or take a photo of it. When you get it back check and see if its the same drive. If it is go absolutely mental.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 06:10 PM   #8
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
I'd say Alucard hit it, follow what he says. I worked in repairs and we'd only replace a component if it's totally unfixable. Sometimes it'd come back having broke again, and that's when we'd put a new one in. But they won't just lob in a new one out of the goodness of their heart. It's coming out of their pockets after all.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:56 PM   #9
FinalSolace2
IRAQ- Please assimilate forget past
 
FinalSolace2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london
Posts: 4,341
Found out its a Trojan-BNK.Win32.Keylogger

The lappy had my frikking psychology assignment I was editing.

It seems like every move I take I lose my shit to technology.

I'm going to do a password recovery on the admin file and then install spyware doctor.

its years since I've used lappys regular, tech just gets more and more vexing.
I'm in an internet cafe at 00:46 to download recover boot CD,

I better download two more versions just in case.

seriously, thanks for your response guys, big karma
__________________


Crowfoot (American Blackfoot Indian Orator) on his deathbed:"What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset."
FinalSolace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:56 PM   #10
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
You had to of clicked on something suspicious, or downloaded and ran an infected exe or dll file. I hope you don't use IE for browsing.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:01 AM   #11
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Theres actually ways of breaking into the systems using a generic windows admin account. These are some methods of doing it. Might be easier and faster for you to try them. I've only done it with win7 at my previous job. That was entertaining lololol

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/60...rd-acer-aspire

http://www.windowspasswordrecovery.n...ord-reset.html
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:25 AM   #12
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,129
chrome is awesome, I've never got a virus while using it. Unless it was attached to something I downloaded, damn muppet babies torrent!
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.