The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2011, 09:25 PM   #1
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
Rage - Issues with ATI cards

Don't buy Rage if you have an ATI card...lots of issues with pop in and low textures, etc. I have a gtx570 and I'm enjoying it. Fix should be coming soon from ATI/Id.

Also the graphics options are pretty much nonexistent on purpose (Rage looks at your system and automatically sets quality)...problem is it sets vsync to off by default (can't change or even see what it's set to unless you look in the config file), and there was a ton of screen tearing with it off, so make sure you set vsync to "force on" in nvidia control panel.

Last edited by Chronos; 10-05-2011 at 01:28 AM.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 10-05-2011, 02:15 AM   #2
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Thats why I stick with nvidia. And fuck you ID. I'm on a pc not a console, I demand graphic options and vsync on by default.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:17 AM   #3
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
fixed

worst screen tearing i've ever seen with vsync off. no idea why they would release it like that.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:52 AM   #4
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
Yeah I'm disappointed with id in regards to this game. Yet another developer just concentrating on consoles and not giving a shit about us PC players I guess.

Valve, CD Projekt. Don't ever leave us. <3
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:07 AM   #5
Escaflowne2001
... ... ... ...
 
Escaflowne2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Thetford, Norfolk, England
Posts: 17,453
Aren't ID owned by Bethesda nowadays not really a company known for bug free games.
Escaflowne2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:10 AM   #6
Joe Redifer
Olé!
 
Joe Redifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 20,051
I don't understand why anyone would want to turn vsync off for any game EVER.
Joe Redifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:12 AM   #7
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
I always play with vsync off. Never have it on. I much prefer it, get better performance for when recording games too. Only game I've ever used vsync with was Portal 2 because of retarded graphic errors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Escaflowne2001
Aren't ID owned by Bethesda nowadays not really a company known for bug free games.
True, but, do Bethesda go to every developer they own and install some bugs on their games?
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:43 AM   #8
Escaflowne2001
... ... ... ...
 
Escaflowne2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Thetford, Norfolk, England
Posts: 17,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfSentinels View Post
True, but, do Bethesda go to every developer they own and install some bugs on their games?
As funny as that would be no but they might make them release it before it's 100% ready.
Escaflowne2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:51 AM   #9
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
I think ID is probably the one studio bethesda cant push around. If Carmack says its not ready, Bethesda cant do shit. But it was ready for 360 so thats good enough.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:05 AM   #10
calintz
thank you based god
 
calintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,074
after a couple of patches... that's when i'll cop the game
calintz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:31 AM   #11
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfSentinels View Post
I always play with vsync off. Never have it on. I much prefer it, get better performance for when recording games too. Only game I've ever used vsync with was Portal 2 because of retarded graphic errors.



True, but, do Bethesda go to every developer they own and install some bugs on their games?
i don't know why, but for a lot of games there is no difference that i can tell with vsync on or off...but for rage and most games, if it's off i can really notice the screen tearing to the point where it's unplayable.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:50 AM   #12
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,926
what is vsync?
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 07:23 AM   #13
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
It matches the game's framerate to your monitor's refresh rate.

I've never had any problems with it disabled, and quite a few little jumpy problems with it turned on, especially on Source games. So I'll continue to keep it turned off.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 01:46 PM   #14
Northeastmonk
Registered User
 
Northeastmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,991
I got a 1bg Nvidia on both pc and labtop. But I plan on upscaling it to my hdtv anyway. Though I run 1900x1200 and 1600x900 already. I knew I went with the best graphics card. Thanks Alucard.

I'm waiting for the potman to drop it off.
Northeastmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 03:48 PM   #15
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
heehee...potman...drop it off...get it...heehee
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.