The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > General Gaming Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2011, 08:13 PM   #1
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
Torchlight 2 delayed

Quote:
Work on the Xbox Live version of Torchlight caused the delay, CEO Max Schaefer told Digital Spy.

"I'd say that the Xbox project, having to do the extra work with the interface, has pushed us back a little bit, so we're probably talking July right now for Torchlight II," he said.
Seriously, fuck you. Fuck you so much. You really think a diablo style game is going to be appreciated on the xbox? Fuck you again.


http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...ght-ii-delayed
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 09:09 PM   #2
eastx
The Fighting Bomber
 
eastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lake Jackson, TX USA
Posts: 4,569
The only things keeping it from being a success on Xbox 360 will be that it's coming out 2 years after the original and the $15 price. I think it'll do okay anyway though.
eastx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:07 PM   #3
zechin
THERE IS NO BATHROOM!
 
zechin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,763
Well Blizzard want to push out Diablo 3 this year. So they need to get it out asap before Diablo 3 steals their thunderooo!!!!!!!
zechin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 01:45 AM   #4
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,709
I'm so looking forward to this game though. Like some games though, can't imagine this would handle well using a controller.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 08:21 AM   #5
SpaceManSpiff
Spiff to the Rescue!!
 
SpaceManSpiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 3,635
Diablo 3 has a good chance of being released on consoles too.
__________________
Steam, Xbox Live, PSN, and Apple Gamecenter: xSpacemanspiff
SpaceManSpiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:47 AM   #6
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 645
hahahahaahahahahahahahahahaa!!!
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 10:08 AM   #7
BlindMaphisto
DANGER-HUMAN
 
BlindMaphisto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Kakalaka
Posts: 3,798
I bought the 360 version of Torchlight and really loved it. They did an excellent job of utilizing the controller. I might end up spending my From Dust points on TL2
__________________
"I had a perfect nightmare on a starry torrid sea, I am cast in prison by a crippled demon's plea, The demon has three faces all are laughing down at me, The Banker with his filthy lucre sets the game astride, The General with raging might lets forth a battle cry, The Judge locks now the metal tomb where I am meant to die, But vengeance is a brutal beast not held by any cell, My wit is steeled my blade is wet so sound the reapers bell, Banker, Judge and General you all shall burn in hell."
BlindMaphisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:17 AM   #8
calintz
thank you based god
 
calintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,075
calintz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 06:40 AM   #9
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
Fuck yeah
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 07:00 AM   #10
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,709
Female armour isn't revealing enough. Back to the drawing board.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 07:08 PM   #11
calintz
thank you based god
 
calintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,075
Quote:
Super-sized PC action RPG sequel Torchlight 2 is too big to fit on Xbox Live Arcade and will need to be "comprehensively redesigned" if it's ever to see a console release, developer Runic Games has revealed.

CEO Max Schaefer told Eurogamer that it had only just managed to squeeze the original game below Microsoft's file size limit. As it stands, the significantly more ambitious sequel is not even close.

Whereas the first game had just one just small town and a few dungeons, the sequel has vast outdoor areas, multiple hub cities, different terrain types and, crucially, co-operative multiplayer.

"With Torchlight 2 there is a little more complication as far as just being able to do a straight port, as we did with Torchlight 1," he explained. "In all likelihood, if Torchlight 2 gets to the Xbox it would be probably fairly comprehensively redesigned.

"We would have to be redoing the interface for a console release anyway, just like we did with Torchlight 1, so it would probably make sense to do something more specifically tailored to the Xbox.

"We managed to shoehorn Torchlight 1 in there but just barely," he continued.

"As some people have pointed out, there's a little bit of frame-rate slowdown when it gets super crowded on screen. That's another fact of it not being designed for the system and just being shoehorned onto it."

That said, it still hopes to bring the game to consoles in some form, given the huge success of the original on XBLA.
http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...o-big-for-xbla

apparently the first torchlight was under 200mb, and that was a "squeeze"... what's the xbox size limit now?
isn't it like 2gb? so this game is bigger than 2gb?
calintz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 08:47 PM   #12
calintz
thank you based god
 
calintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,075
edit:

Quote:
UPDATE: Runic has clarified via its Twitter feed that it's the XBLA memory limit that's the problem, not the file size restriction.
calintz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 04:34 AM   #13
darren
... lol
 
darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ippy O Switch, UK
Posts: 11,819
MS dropped the file size restrcition years ago didnt they?
__________________
Currently playing : Mass Effect 3
Playing next : Tales of the Abyss
Waiting on : Diablo 3
XBL Herr Lip Steam Butters' Bottom Bitch (http://steamcommunity.com/id/buttersbottombitch)
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 10:01 AM   #14
Shorty0061
Shorty the Butt.
 
Shorty0061's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A butt.
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by darren316 View Post
MS dropped the file size restrcition years ago didnt they?
Its at like 2 gigs right now, but I think I heard they're scrapping the whole size limit by the end of the year.
__________________
XBL/PSN/STEAM: RagnarokRed
Shorty0061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 11:22 AM   #15
calintz
thank you based god
 
calintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,075
i think they were referring to the RAM?

which doesnt make sense given so many more graphically advanced and complex worlds are ok with the 360's RAM
calintz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.