The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2007, 08:12 PM   #1
George Foreman
Registered User
 
George Foreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 984
Internet Connection Problems

My dad is having trouble using Internet Explorer(7) on his laptop(running Vista) depite the computer recieving an "excellant" as far as network connection goes. We've called a sh!tload of help people and have tried every solution I can think of.

Can anyone help?
__________________
Pizza!
George Foreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 05-24-2007, 08:25 PM   #2
Alexander
I speak with codes.
 
Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Foreman
My dad is having trouble using Internet Explorer(7) on his laptop(running Vista) depite the computer recieving an "excellant" as far as network connection goes. We've called a sh!tload of help people and have tried every solution I can think of.

Can anyone help?
Are you using a wireless connection?
If so, are you using a third-party program to utilize your wireless connection? like SMC?
Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:32 PM   #3
George Foreman
Registered User
 
George Foreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexander
Are you using a wireless connection?
If so, are you using a third-party program to utilize your wireless connection? like SMC?
No, my dad doesn't really go outside of the prepackaged programs. BTW, we uninstalled Norton, disabled the Windows Firewall, refreshed the IP address, and other crap and it's still not working.
__________________
Pizza!
George Foreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:41 PM   #4
Alexander
I speak with codes.
 
Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Foreman
No, my dad doesn't really go outside of the prepackaged programs. BTW, we uninstalled Norton, disabled the Windows Firewall, refreshed the IP address, and other crap and it's still not working.
On second thought, I don't know anything about Vista, so I doubt I can help.
Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 01:54 AM   #5
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
I'm no vista king either. If the laptop is new then cal the guys you got it from.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 03:17 AM   #6
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
I just dealt with Vista for the first time today, got my family a new PC

and VISTA IS ANNOYING
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 04:14 AM   #7
Sinful Sam
gnarf! gnarf!
 
Sinful Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Five min away from SavedFromSin
Posts: 8,732
What's annoying about Vista? I'm having no problems.

Sorry George, I can't help you.
__________________
Join The-Magicbox Facebook group page!

STEAM: Sinfulsam
PSN: Sinfulsam
Live Gamertag: Sinful Sam
3DS Code: 1461-6914-4192 (PM me your code if you add me)

Last edited by Sinful Sam; 05-25-2007 at 04:20 AM.
Sinful Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 02:39 PM   #8
Nano Fox
All your WIFI are belong to us!
 
Nano Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: I fell in love with a woman, but my family didn't like her. (Friend)Your parents? (Me) No, my wife and kids.
Posts: 1,162
Best thing i can advice you is to take laptop and drop it a few times, than use hammer to remove vista . but thats the easy way out. grab a pirated xp ver from the net and use that as your os.
__________________
[Currently playing on PC]Worl of Tanks / Diablo 3 / Civ 5 / Starcraft 2 / Infested Planet / Battleline / Civ 6
Nano Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 03:17 PM   #9
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinful Sam
What's annoying about Vista? I'm having no problems.

Sorry George, I can't help you.

do you want to open this program?

warning u are opening this program

did you know your opening this program?
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 03:45 PM   #10
Sinful Sam
gnarf! gnarf!
 
Sinful Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Five min away from SavedFromSin
Posts: 8,732
LOL. I knew it was that.

It's not too bad. I make sure they check off the box on those warnings when opening the program again.
__________________
Join The-Magicbox Facebook group page!

STEAM: Sinfulsam
PSN: Sinfulsam
Live Gamertag: Sinful Sam
3DS Code: 1461-6914-4192 (PM me your code if you add me)
Sinful Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 10:17 AM   #11
Hepheastus
I Rule You.
 
Hepheastus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: I'm going to Hell, BIRTCHES!
Posts: 256
Disconnect the modem and any routers you have from both power and cables for 10 seconds.
Reconnect.
__________________
Has the light gone out for you? 'Cause the light's gone out for me.
It is the 21st century, It is the 21st century.
You can fight it like a dog, and they brought me to my knees.
They got scared and they put me in, they got scared and they put me in.
All the lies run around my face and for anyone else to see,
I'm alive.
Hepheastus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 10:24 AM   #12
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegetto
do you want to open this program?

warning u are opening this program

did you know your opening this program?
Wow. M$ took the alert system of Pokemon and made a OS from it



































Do you wish to submit this reply? "Yes"
You are about to submit this reply, are you sure you want to continue? "Yes"
Your reply is being submited. "Ok"
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 10:35 PM   #13
George Foreman
Registered User
 
George Foreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 984
My dad finally figured it out. For some reason he had to uninstall and re-install Vista. Also he lost half of his files, but whatever.
__________________
Pizza!
George Foreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.