The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2007, 08:08 PM   #1
shinobi00
Hyper Ninja 100%
 
shinobi00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 839
athlon 64 x2 4200 good enough?

With all the new PC games coming out(hellgate london, Crysis, etc) , and processors so cheap these days I've decided I have to upgrade. I really don't want to spend over $200 and I can pick up a barebones(mobo, processor, case) 4200 x2 system for around $177us. if i spend 14 more bucks i can pick up a 4600(probably worth it). It just needs to last like a year untilI get something better.

Crysis "projected" system specs:
Minimum Requirements

CPU: Athlon 64 3000+/Intel 2.8ghz
Graphics: Nvidia 6600/X800GTO (SM 2.0)
RAM: 768Mb/1Gb on Windows Vista
HDD: 6GB
Internet: 256k+
Optical Drive: DVD
Software: DX9.0c with Windows XP

Recommended Requirements

CPU: Dual-core CPU (Athlon X2/Pentium D)
Graphics: Nvidia 7800GTX/ATI X1800XT (SM 3.0) or DX10 equivalent
RAM: 1.5Gb
HDD: 6GB
Internet: 512k+ (128k+ upstream)
Optical Drive: DVD
Software: DX10 with Windows Vista

Hopefully no games will get worse than this in a year.
__________________
I play video games.
shinobi00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 05-09-2007, 11:15 PM   #2
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
I wonder why it says 7800 recommended for video card when its a DX10 game, logically an 8800 would be recommended. The 4200 is a good cpu, but its of an old format. The new ones, AM2/Conroe are the ones you should be focusing on since they'll go higher if the board supports it. I'd sort of say wait till Crysis actually comes out and then wait a little after that to see performance based info and stuff on XP and vista etcetc. I'd recommend looking at the intel 6400 cpu.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 11:30 PM   #3
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,132
probably to run it in DX9 mode in Vista and since Vista is a system hog, it probably needs a 3D card about as powerful as the 7800.

I wonder what Crysis will look like in DX9.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 12:04 AM   #4
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Theres screenshot examples. Very big difference.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 12:14 AM   #5
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,587
Post them please.
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 03:03 AM   #6
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Effort to find them.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 09:36 AM   #7
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,132
http://www.incrysis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=1857

found some, if it's mostly lighting/shadows kind of stuff that take the biggest hit other than graphics, whew, fine with me, I really want to try this game.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 07:22 PM   #8
shinobi00
Hyper Ninja 100%
 
shinobi00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard
I wonder why it says 7800 recommended for video card when its a DX10 game, logically an 8800 would be recommended.
These are like a year old, but pretty much official.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard
The 4200 is a good cpu, but its of an old format. The new ones, AM2/Conroe are the ones you should be focusing on since they'll go higher if the board supports it. I'd sort of say wait till Crysis actually comes out and then wait a little after that to see performance based info and stuff on XP and vista etcetc. I'd recommend looking at the intel 6400 cpu.
Thanks for the intel tip. I looked at some benchmarks and the 6400 pretty much owned the amd line of x2 processors. It's a bit more than I want to spend, but thats ok.

Ii would wait, but my current comp is so slow I want to bash it multiple times with a hammer. I figured I might as well get a decent gaming pc as well.

btw, i can get am am2 version of the 4200.
__________________
I play video games.

Last edited by shinobi00; 05-10-2007 at 07:30 PM.
shinobi00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 02:42 AM   #9
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
am2 is fine, I just think the intel has the better advantage this time around, and this coming from an amd whore. I guess if you really need to upgrade now then go ahead with most of the big ones but save some money and get a temp vid card which you can replace at the end of the year. Current good card should set you back about $100.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 03:27 AM   #10
shinobi00
Hyper Ninja 100%
 
shinobi00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 839
Thanks for all the help. I decicded i'm going with the intel procesor.
__________________
I play video games.
shinobi00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.