The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2006, 04:06 PM   #1
Beam
~The Last Of The Old Guard~
 
Beam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salem, AL
Posts: 2,399
Graphics Card Recommendations

affordable is the key word here. $150 and under.
__________________
When You Dig A Grave,You Best Dig It Wide And Deep,For The Grave You Dig May Be Yours To Keep!
Beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 12-23-2006, 04:40 PM   #2
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
I would say wait for Dx10 cards.

If you must get one now take a look at Nvidea 7600 cards. There cheap and good enough to run everything fairly close to highest settings.
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 04:55 PM   #3
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,594
I would also recommend the 7600 if you want a graphics update right now for $100-$130. My 7600 plays Bf2 at full detail at a 1024 rex. I got the card for $100.
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 08:37 PM   #4
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
yes get the 7600

I got the 7300, im amazed at how well this card works, so I guarantee you'd be happy with the 7600
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 09:30 PM   #5
Naoko Suki
Steak!
 
Naoko Suki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 937
get a nice NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420. ;)
Naoko Suki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 12:54 AM   #6
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Those cards are mostly pci-e. If your board is an AGP then I say wait a few months and do a proper upgrade when DX10 is a little cheaper. Otherwise its a waste buying a more expensive agp card.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 07:36 AM   #7
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
AGP cards are still made? I thought the only AGP cards that came out are **** versions of cards that have been out for atleast a year.
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 08:13 AM   #8
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Theres still some but yeah. The most recent one is the 6800XT. Thats weaker then a normal 6800.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 09:57 AM   #9
Naoko Suki
Steak!
 
Naoko Suki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 937
Crap I'm AGP T__T!
Naoko Suki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 10:06 AM   #10
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
Your gonna have to upgrade Im afraid. Im not possative, but I doubt there will be any DX10 cards in AGP format. Time for a new Mobo(or pc).
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 04:02 PM   #11
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
I'm not sure either about dx10 with agp. But we should know more by February.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 12:33 PM   #12
Beam
~The Last Of The Old Guard~
 
Beam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salem, AL
Posts: 2,399
i'm getting a new pc soon, but this one is just going to be used for light gaming and mostly net surfing since my other pc got trashed i'm just gonna game on this one for a while until i can get the parts i want and not have to get budget parts. but until then i'll use what i have.

here are some facts about the mobo and ther crap

mobo model # P4VM800

RAM 704 MB

chip speed 2.5 ghz

anyway there are a couple of quick facts if that helps.

will the 7600 even work in my mobo?
__________________
When You Dig A Grave,You Best Dig It Wide And Deep,For The Grave You Dig May Be Yours To Keep!
Beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 12:37 PM   #13
Beam
~The Last Of The Old Guard~
 
Beam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salem, AL
Posts: 2,399
oh here's a pic of it.

__________________
When You Dig A Grave,You Best Dig It Wide And Deep,For The Grave You Dig May Be Yours To Keep!
Beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 01:44 PM   #14
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Thats an AGP board. And a fairly poor one at that. As for the 7600GT for example, yeah it'll work on that thing. But just to give you an example..the cheapest 7600GT pci-e card was around $120. But theres only 1 sort for AGP and thats the XFX brand which is good. AGP price is $189. pci-e price is $147. Just to give you an example of price differences between the two versions.

Save up a little and get a board that will last you a few years easy and you wont have to replace soon. Its one of the most important pieces since its a real bitch to pull everything out of it and then plug everything back in and put on a dozen drivers to get the stupid thing stable and working again. So best to get a good board and budget parts for the rest and wait for the big upgrade around june.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 02:52 PM   #15
Decado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,246
How long do you think it will take for Vista to get the major bugs and compatability issues ironed out? If I recall correctly, every OS M$ comes out with takes a while to be patched into stability. I don't want to get all hyped over DX10 if not a lot of games are taking advantage of it for a while AND Vista won't be ready until a year after its release. I'd rather get a higher end system now and wait to upgrade.

Besides video cards, is there anything else we have to look out for when "buying to upgrade" (something i've never successfully done)? Will the RAM I buy now become useless? Will I have to get a new mobo and powersource?
Decado is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.