The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2005, 09:46 AM   #1
Alan1888
Take on Me...
 
Alan1888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A Comic Strip Near You...
Posts: 154
Question Is this Graphics card compatible with this motherboard

"GeForceFX 5200 128MB DDR AGP RP DVI VO"
http://www.dabs.com/uk/channels/comp...linx=2GM9&mc=3

"Asus, A7S8X-MX"
http://geek.pricegrabber.com/search_...sterid=5728288

+ THE BOOK THT CAME WITH HIS MOTHERBOARD SPECIFIED THAT HE "iNSTALL ONLY 1.5V CARDS ON THIS MOTHERBOARD!"

QUICK RESPONCE WOULD BE APPRETIATED AS MY FRIEND WISHES TO ORDER FROM DABS ASAP.
__________________
"Sit Down Man, Take Control. You Have A Rush. It Will Pass." --- Danny --- "Withnail & I" --- 1987

Last edited by Alan1888; 07-30-2005 at 09:49 AM.
Alan1888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 07-31-2005, 12:34 AM   #2
SpaceManSpiff
Spiff to the Rescue!!
 
SpaceManSpiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 3,635
Yes, they are.
__________________
Steam, Xbox Live, PSN, and Apple Gamecenter: xSpacemanspiff
SpaceManSpiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 12:49 AM   #3
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Why are you looking at that video card. Its beyond weak.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 01:13 AM   #4
IoriYagami n8
Pinkerton
 
IoriYagami n8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: A steampunk fantasy land...
Posts: 2,959
Because he may be working on a limited budget, and that could be the highest he is able to afford. Not everyone is willing to toss around half a grand on a video card every few years so that every game they play can be somewhat maxed out.
__________________
Steampunk sex kittens!
IoriYagami n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 03:51 AM   #5
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Thats not really the point. The performance of the 5200 is laughable. Unless he's planning to play games that were made about 8 years ago, its pretty much a waste of money. If you cant afford a good card, logic states you keep saving up till you can get something better. You shouldnt just grab whats in reach and expect to be happy. Even with effects turned down to minimum, that card is going to struggle with plenty of games.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 10:17 AM   #6
Alan1888
Take on Me...
 
Alan1888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A Comic Strip Near You...
Posts: 154
Its not for me.. my friends buying it and just wants to know if it will work, and hes a poor student running on itegrated graphics.
__________________
"Sit Down Man, Take Control. You Have A Rush. It Will Pass." --- Danny --- "Withnail & I" --- 1987
Alan1888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 12:44 PM   #7
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Please convince him to save up an extra $20 and buy the 6200 instead of the 5200. I mean this is the difference frmo playing a game like Half life at 10fps, instead of 40. Thats a huge jump for such a small amount. 5200 would be unplayable on alot of games. Its WEAKER then the 5 year old technology of a geforce 4. I dont see why they actually make this card considering integrated cards are probably better.

Up untill a few weeks ago I was also a poor uni student. But I got myself a lovely 6800GT. I am a wiz at saving.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 02:52 PM   #8
Alan1888
Take on Me...
 
Alan1888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A Comic Strip Near You...
Posts: 154
just off the phone to steesh (my m8), his dad just handed him 120(uk-pounds) towards an upgrade so in total hes got 160, hes spending it all on a graphics card, any ideas? quick responce and if you could pick it from this site.. www.dabs.com/uk
thanks all help appreciated
__________________
"Sit Down Man, Take Control. You Have A Rush. It Will Pass." --- Danny --- "Withnail & I" --- 1987
Alan1888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 06:50 PM   #9
Mistatee
Linguistic Massacre
 
Mistatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rain Central, WA
Posts: 4,836
160 pounds = how muh US dollars?
If its 300 or less go with an ATI 9800XT, thats what i currently use, and i run HL2 at 60+ frames on MAX. (sometimes dipping into 30s, and other times (hallways) going to 200+)
If its 300-400 gow ith the 6800GT/6800ultra. If its more than 400, then he may have a system bottleneck and neecks to get the 6800 and other upgrades as well.
__________________
C'mon get back on your feet!
Mistatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 08:08 PM   #10
Alan1888
Take on Me...
 
Alan1888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A Comic Strip Near You...
Posts: 154
160.00 GBp = 280.840 USD

all this on the cheap talk aside, what is the most powerfull card out there right now and how much does it cost?
__________________
"Sit Down Man, Take Control. You Have A Rush. It Will Pass." --- Danny --- "Withnail & I" --- 1987

Last edited by Alan1888; 07-31-2005 at 08:13 PM.
Alan1888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 12:21 AM   #11
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
http://www.dabs.com/uk/channels/comp...quicklinx=37XH

Thats the card I'd recommend. Though I dunno what Dabsvalue is made from. Probably just a stock ATI card. Either way good litle card this one. Just tell him to disable Antialiasing in the graphic options so it doesnt use aliasing with games, and therefore give him a FAR better performance rate. You dont really need aliasing if you're playing over 1000x700 res. Whats his cpu anyway?

Most powerful card is the geforce 7800, which came out a little over a month ago. Before that the highest standard was the 6800Ultra.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 06:15 AM   #12
Mistatee
Linguistic Massacre
 
Mistatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rain Central, WA
Posts: 4,836
128mb 6800?
I dunno, a 256mb 9800 XT is definetly superior.

Isnt the 128 6800 barely better then the respectable 6600?
__________________
C'mon get back on your feet!
Mistatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 07:38 AM   #13
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Its all relative. Depending on what sort of performance you wish to get. Example, on a system with a 3400+ AMD cpu, in Half Life 2 the 9800XT scores about 85 at 1024x700, a nice resolution. The 6800 scores about 75. A bit of a difference. Then we have Doom 3, same specs, 9800XT gets under 60fps, 6800 gets about 90fps. Huge difference.

Both cards are nearly the same price, the 128mb that is. But the 6800 has some features the 9800 doesnt, such as pixel and shader 3.0 <ATI only having 2.0>, and can go higher in resolution. 6800 has 12 pipelines, 9800XT has 8 blahblah etc. The ATI is always poor with OpenGL games compared to the geforce card, these being anything with the Doom or Quake engine for example. But the geforce one works well with both. These are the two biggest used engines around games, at least the ones used more then others. The third one used alot is the glorious stuff from Epic, the Unreal engine. But that one runs excellent on both cards with fairly close scores.

I'd recommend the geforce just because it has more graphical features that the ATI card doesnt. Others would say go with the 9800XT. While a brilliant card, its more outdated. Maybe if it was heaps cheaper it would be more attractive.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 09:45 AM   #14
Mistatee
Linguistic Massacre
 
Mistatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rain Central, WA
Posts: 4,836
I just looked up both cards, and your right. I was on the assumption that 9800 had the same pipelines as 6800, but boy was i wrong. Still a 128mb 6800 gets 90 FPS on Doom 3? I was getting 62 with a 9800 on Ultra, we are talking about ultra right? I thought a 128 card wouldnt be able to run doom3 past high...
__________________
C'mon get back on your feet!
Mistatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 10:45 AM   #15
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
9800XT yeah. And remember just because you have ultra settings doesnt mean it is. If your card is a 128, then it stuck at the textures the card can handle. So yes, you'd need a 256 for high textures. And a 512 for ultra textures.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.