The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2008, 11:42 PM   #46
Seraph
>:3
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 11,005
Well thats the problem. According to the tech who gave it back to us and that calculator, she needs at minimum 600w. We actually have a nice 600w in it. She has a Geforce 8800 GT in this thing.
Seraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 12:27 AM   #47
Zachalmighty
Future Demon King
 
Zachalmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA, NJ
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraph View Post
Sold and Thank you

EDIT: Actually before I buy (she buys) is there any truth to this?

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=108088

It lists Rosewill as a "avoid" brand.
They are probably generalizing in terms of avoid the brand. I have that model and it works well unless they can justify not buying it you should.
__________________
An unavoidable war is called JUSTICE. When brutality is the only option left, it is HOLY.
Zachalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 02:23 AM   #48
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
Alot of brands dont actually run what they state. 600watt in some is actually 550 or so. Thermaltake is one brand that actually IS what it states. Its something to do with watt/voltage/pies, I forget exactly so its not entirely false advertising.

Also NEVER get minimum. Its always best to have a little more then a little less. Always think like that when it comes to pcs. My system had the 8800gts, 6850 dual core cpu, and the x-fi 64mb gamers soundcard. Also 2 hdds. I dont really need 2 but I'm doing something at the moment. My 650watt somehow shorted itself after a couple days cause it couldnt generate enough. So I went and grabbed a 750w for a little more. At least this one has molex cables. As in you can plug what cables you want into the power supply instead of having 20 cables clogging the area.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 08:32 AM   #49
Naoko Suki
Steak!
 
Naoko Suki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 937
The Thermaltake does look a good brand, thats the only one the guy said that was best off of the top of his head. Would a 750w one be good enough for my computer then? I need it so badly.
You guys wanna know what the coolest thing is. (or is it? I have no idea if it even is a reason for it) I'm using my computer right now to just use minimum, because its a 450w, but I play Crysis hardcore! I..I think thats bad for my computer....rite?

Also Blue=BONUS because my other fan is blue and so is the front.
Naoko Suki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 11:08 AM   #50
Zachalmighty
Future Demon King
 
Zachalmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA, NJ
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naoko Suki View Post
Also Blue=BONUS because my other fan is blue and so is the front.
My entire computer glows blue because the case fans are already that color!!
__________________
An unavoidable war is called JUSTICE. When brutality is the only option left, it is HOLY.
Zachalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 11:49 AM   #51
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
Antec tri cool fans are blue (I use them).
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 10:49 PM   #52
Naoko Suki
Steak!
 
Naoko Suki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 937
Should I go for a 1kw? I look on so many other forums, an they all usually say a 1.1w is needed. I dunno wuts to does!
Naoko Suki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 11:12 PM   #53
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,756
when I build my new computer, I'm going to get every color of the rainbow for the lights that go into it.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 11:14 PM   #54
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
next time i want to go orange or red.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 01:44 AM   #55
Naoko Suki
Steak!
 
Naoko Suki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 937
Zach, you have the Rosewill one right? How long have you had it?
And what card do you have? 8800 ?
Naoko Suki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.