The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2005, 04:37 AM   #1
Nano Fox
All your WIFI are belong to us!
 
Nano Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: I fell in love with a woman, but my family didn't like her. (Friend)Your parents? (Me) No, my wife and kids.
Posts: 1,164
Buying Laptop/Desktop need a little help.

well ive narrowed it down to 2 machines, a laptop or desktop.
Desktop:
Aurora 5500
AMD Athlon 63 FX-55 (2.6 2000mhz fsb, 1mb cache)
Windows Xp Home Edition Pre-install.
1GB dual ddr sdram 400mhz memory
80gb sata hd (7,200rpm, 8mb cache)
Nvida geforce 6800 gt pci 256mb ddr3
5.1 audio with spdif out.
16x dvd dual layer burner.
roughly around 1,800$
video card for me isnt that great, but alienware only does nvidia and not ati.

Laptop:
Motherboard Sager 4750 NoteBook
CPU AMD Athlon 64 754 3400+
Ram OCZ SODIMM PC3200 512mb x2
Hard Drive Hitachi Travelstar 5K80 40GB Hard Drive
Sound Card Terratec Aureon 5.1 USB
Removable Drive Samsung 3.5inch 1.44 Floppy USB
Communications Sager - Internal Bluetooth Card
No Operating System
Additional Cooling LapCool Notebook Cooler
ATI Radeon 9700 128MB
Roughly around $2,500
only system ive really seen that uses a amd instead of a intel.

but i can see the price difference but i can get discounts on both products.
and please post some comps roughly under 2,900$ that i should consider buying instead of these two.

~thanks for teh help'
__________________
[Currently playing on PC]Worl of Tanks / Diablo 3 / Civ 5 / Starcraft 2 / Infested Planet / Battleline / Civ 6
Nano Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 04-15-2005, 11:07 AM   #2
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
Good lord, you planning to have a PC that isnt in need of an upgrade for like 4-5 years or something? FX-55... Tell me, what motherboard is with that set up. Hopefully its an Nforce4 SLI board. Then you might be set for at least 6 years if you buy a second 6800GT down the line when its like half the price.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 11:21 AM   #3
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,197
On the laptop, remove the floppy drive and buy yourself flash drive. Floppy Drives are obsolete at this point and there's no point in having one in there when you can use space for something else, like a memory card reader.

But check at Gateway. I bought my new laptop for 1300 and it's pretty much as strong as taht one. I just got 512 ram, then bought another 512 stick afterwards. 2,500 seems like a little much for something that's not THAT powerful. And if you're going to spend that much on a laptop, you should just got for 80-200 gig harddrive instead. Also make sure that any laptop you get has an internal 802.11a-b-g wireless atenna built in. The last thing you want is a fugly antenna sticking out the side of your system. Also, how big is your display? How much does it weigh?

And honestly, I'd suggest an AMD64 with Windows XP 64bit edition over an intel chip at this point, at least for now. But if you pay over 1700 for that configuration, you're spending WAY too much.
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 01:36 PM   #4
Nano Fox
All your WIFI are belong to us!
 
Nano Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: I fell in love with a woman, but my family didn't like her. (Friend)Your parents? (Me) No, my wife and kids.
Posts: 1,164
I don't know about gateway that well, but i can get about 500$ discount on either cause of course i do have connections the aurora 5500 does'nt specify what motherboard is used with there combo of course, hopefully it is a Nforce4 SLI board or a new asus board, i might call them up and ask exactly what motherboard is used. the memory of the hd i dont exactly need for a 300$ add i can have a extra 800gb hdd so im more than happy with around 40gb-80gb. the 1.44 Floppy USB i need for work mostly, its not that i dont mind using flash; its just i have had problems with them failing in my workplace a lot.
__________________
[Currently playing on PC]Worl of Tanks / Diablo 3 / Civ 5 / Starcraft 2 / Infested Planet / Battleline / Civ 6
Nano Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 03:20 AM   #5
crystalclear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 154
Build your own i say, i bought a PC....3 months later i pretty much built a whole other one and just transferred the CPU and drives over to my new one coz most of the stuff was ****.
But the Desktop ****s over the Laptop, and its alot cheaper.
crystalclear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 05:25 PM   #6
Nano Fox
All your WIFI are belong to us!
 
Nano Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: I fell in love with a woman, but my family didn't like her. (Friend)Your parents? (Me) No, my wife and kids.
Posts: 1,164
yea i was looking at alienware than i said "screw em" ill make my own. i made a 3200+ a few months ago for a friend and it turned out really sweet and under 2k. so im shopping for good parts right now at this moment. laptop i would give a 50/50 though, i just cant stand using intel on games.
__________________
[Currently playing on PC]Worl of Tanks / Diablo 3 / Civ 5 / Starcraft 2 / Infested Planet / Battleline / Civ 6
Nano Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 07:32 PM   #7
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,197
So go for an AMD. I have an AMD 64 laptop and it works great.
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 08:07 PM   #8
Seska
Slurp
 
Seska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The Rain in Spain
Posts: 1,754
I'd go for the FX, particularly if you want good performance in gameing. Not even the new Pentium EE Dual Core processor thats recently come out, outperforms the FX.
__________________
Meow.
Seska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 11:58 PM   #9
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
FX is way too expensive. Dont buy anything under a 3500+ 64AMD. If you really have the money to burn, then an FX is definately a 4-5year cpu lifespan.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 05:01 PM   #10
Nano Fox
All your WIFI are belong to us!
 
Nano Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: I fell in love with a woman, but my family didn't like her. (Friend)Your parents? (Me) No, my wife and kids.
Posts: 1,164
well i did some shopping around and this is my basic lineup for parts.
tell me what you think.

ALL BASIC EXCEPT SOUND CARD.
-CASE - Been told to change the cases power supply~
Aspire X-Navigator (ATXA8NW-AL/500 ATX Case - Silver/Black
Full Tower ATX Case:
* Size: Full Tower ATX Case
* Drive Bays: 4x 5.25", 2x 3.5", 7x3.5" Hidden
* Cooling System: No Fans Included
* Power Supply: 500W
* Special Feature: Aluminum Chassis, Side Panel, See-Thru Cover on Power Supply

-MOTHER BOARD
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 Motherboard
AMD Solution Motherboard - Athlon 64 Motherboard:
* Chipset: nVidia nForce 4 SLI Chipset
* Processor Support: Socket 939 for AMD Athlon 64FX/64 processor
* Memory Support: Up to 4GB PC3200 DDR
* Expansion Slot: 2 (16x) PCI Express, 2 (1x) PCI Express, & 3 PCI Slots
* Other Features: SATA 3Gb/s, Dual RAID, Dual Gb LAN, 8 Ch. Audio, 1394 Firewire

-CPU
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55, 1MB L2 Cache, 64-bit Socket 939 Processor - OEM
Specification
Model: AMD Athlon 64 FX-55
Core: ClawHammer
Operating Frequency: 2.6GHz
FSB: Integrated into Chip
Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/1MB
Voltage: 1.5V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: Socket 939
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, SSE2, 3DNow!, 3DNow!+

-MEMORY
Geil Ultra Series Value Dual Channel Kit 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 w/ Blue Heatspreader -Retail
- Specifications -
Manufacturer: Geil
Speed: DDR400(PC3200)
Type: 184 Pin DDR SDRAM
Error Checking: Non-ECC
Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Cas Latency: 2.5 8-4-4
Support Voltage: 2.55V-2.95V
Bandwidth: 3.2GB/s
Organization: two 64M x 64 -Bit
Special Features: Optimized SPD for Dual Channel DDR motherboard

-HARD DRIVE
Western Digital 200GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD2000JD, OEM Drive Only
Specifications:
Capacity: 200GB
Average Seek Time: 8.9 ms
Buffer: 8MB
Rotational Speed: 7200 RPM
Interface: Serial ATA
Manufacturer Warranty: 3 years
Packaging: OEM Drive Only

-VIDEO CARD
ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon X800 XL Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, DVI/VIVO,
8X AGP, Model "100-714500" -OEM
Specifications:
Chipset/Core Speed: ATI Radeon X800 XL/400MHz
Pixel Pipeline: 16
Memory/Effective Speed: 256MB GDDR3/980MHz
BUS: AGP 8X
Ports: VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub) + VIVO + DVI
Tv Tuner: Yes
Support 3D API: DirectX 9, OpenGL 2.0
Max Resolution@32bit Color: 2048X1536@85Hz
RAMDACs: 400 MHz
__________________
[Currently playing on PC]Worl of Tanks / Diablo 3 / Civ 5 / Starcraft 2 / Infested Planet / Battleline / Civ 6
Nano Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 05:53 PM   #11
Nano Fox
All your WIFI are belong to us!
 
Nano Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: I fell in love with a woman, but my family didn't like her. (Friend)Your parents? (Me) No, my wife and kids.
Posts: 1,164
just found something i can use better, so i changed the hard drive to a 10,000rpm'er.
Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD740GD, OEM Drive Only
- Specifications -
Capacity: 74GB
Average Seek Time: 4.5 ms
Buffer: 8MB
Rotational Speed: 10000 RPM
Interface: Serial ATA
Features: High Performance SATA Interface
Packaging: OEM Drive Only
__________________
[Currently playing on PC]Worl of Tanks / Diablo 3 / Civ 5 / Starcraft 2 / Infested Planet / Battleline / Civ 6
Nano Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.