The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2009, 01:49 AM   #16
darren
... lol
 
darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ippy O Switch, UK
Posts: 11,806
no your getting ahead of yourself .. an IT degree is a really good foot in the door for a good job IMO, once you start work the learning starts again on how industry works and what we use do to stuff etc etc. You will basically be starting the learning process again from the beginning. But that's no big deal. The degree to me when interviewing a grad is means that have the ability to learn, and an interest in IT nothing more tbh ..

Things change way to fast in IT for Universities etc, to keep up, they are usually teaching languages and methods that are 2-3 years out of date., espesically when it comes to programming languages, as the flavour of the month changes very fast. However if you can do one very well there's no reason that you can't learn other quite quickly. And the difference between what is expected between University quality coding and industry quality code is quite something tbh

What you will see in IT adverts a lot now as the requirement is a degree or 'x' number of years of industry experience. Personally given the choice i'd take someone with no degree and loads of experience any day .. But IT is one of those funny fields when you can get away with out a degree if you have a tone of experience.

You will be horrified how many grads i have had work for me that leave Uni that actually think what they have been taught is what industry is doing right now, and hate idea of having to learn all over again ..

To learn a language now and think it will be used in 2-3 years is hoping tbh .. it might it might not .. It would have evolved or have been replaced .. but as long as you can show clear understanding of what has been used previously in industry you will be fine ..

Are you scrwewed?? no far from it you will have a degree in IT, which show you have the capability to learn .. so as long as when you graduate you are aware that industry is way different and don't go telling employers at interview that they should be doing things the way you were taught at uni (you will be amazed how many grads tell me this) you will be more than fine mate.

on a side note once you are working, you will find the best jobs are not advertised, people approach people with the skill they want etc .. get your profile once working on sites liked linkedin.com and xing.com companies look on sites like these for IT people with the skills they want before they advertise quite a lot now.
__________________
Currently playing : Mass Effect 3
Playing next : Tales of the Abyss
Waiting on : Diablo 3
XBL Herr Lip Steam Butters' Bottom Bitch (http://steamcommunity.com/id/buttersbottombitch)

Last edited by darren; 08-30-2009 at 02:22 AM.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 02:36 PM   #17
MarionetteKazuk
Problem?
 
MarionetteKazuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,835
Yeah, when i was at a former job, one of my co-workers got hired at firedog (circuit city's version of geek squad) and they hired him even though he had no degrees or certs, just based on experience. The problem is a lot of places aren't like that and actually require a degree regardless if have more experience than some of the ppl who have degrees and certs.

I haven't got entirely much experience in networking, but that's what I plan to make my main focus as before and after i get my cert so this way I can have good experience plus at least have that title of saying i am certified instead of seeming like some back-alley hire.
MarionetteKazuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:27 PM   #18
MarionetteKazuk
Problem?
 
MarionetteKazuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,835
Finally got my books in to study for the test. I may order more if need be, but i paid only $58 (with shipping) which is not bad at all, and the books are in new condition.

MarionetteKazuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:10 AM   #19
Kiuju2k
Oh no!
 
Kiuju2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Riverside, california
Posts: 4,906
Thats good stuff man. I think I might actually pick up a or download a book or two just to get some kind of foot in the door.
__________________
"When life gives you shit. Make shit juice."

Zechin
Kiuju2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:09 AM   #20
MarionetteKazuk
Problem?
 
MarionetteKazuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,835
I'd prefer to have the book than to download it because in books i just highlight the important areas and memories them better. If i download i'll keep a notebook with me. But yeah if you can get ur foot in the door would be good. if ur "Location: riverside" is correct then you should have no problem getting a job. Although from what I've read there's more jobs for it in the north west part of cali and gradually goes down as it goes south.
MarionetteKazuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:49 PM   #21
Kiuju2k
Oh no!
 
Kiuju2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Riverside, california
Posts: 4,906
Yeah since I moved back home job market is horrible. I would more likely move back to LA.
__________________
"When life gives you shit. Make shit juice."

Zechin
Kiuju2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:56 PM   #22
Seraph
>:3
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 11,005
MK unless you have some actual cisco hardware available to you to practice with it's going to be hard.

I persued a CCNA for about a year. Took the classes at school and after playing with it long enough I realized it wasn't what I wanted to specialize in. Because at that point I figured that cert would only get my foot in the door to employers who had cisco hardware.

I finally decided Microsoft certs were more up my alley and have much broader application in the business world.
Seraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 06:56 PM   #23
darren
... lol
 
darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ippy O Switch, UK
Posts: 11,806
meh!!! for 58 you can get all you need to practice/study with

MK, i would get this over the books TBH .. it comes with all you need plus pdfs

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CISCO-Mini-CCN...#ht_3401wt_941

If you go down the virtualization/automation path (which is where theres a massive amount of interest and jobs) ..

torrent VMware workstation 6.5.2 and install / play
__________________
Currently playing : Mass Effect 3
Playing next : Tales of the Abyss
Waiting on : Diablo 3
XBL Herr Lip Steam Butters' Bottom Bitch (http://steamcommunity.com/id/buttersbottombitch)
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:24 AM   #24
MarionetteKazuk
Problem?
 
MarionetteKazuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraph View Post
MK unless you have some actual cisco hardware available to you to practice with it's going to be hard.

I persued a CCNA for about a year. Took the classes at school and after playing with it long enough I realized it wasn't what I wanted to specialize in. Because at that point I figured that cert would only get my foot in the door to employers who had cisco hardware.

I finally decided Microsoft certs were more up my alley and have much broader application in the business world.
Right now I have a router simulator, and i already know it's very limited, but I'm using in the mean time until I either decide to buy some hardware to tinker with or rent out some lab time. Besides, CCNA is just the foot in the door, there's higher certs than that (ie: ccnp), and I really don't plan to just stop at ccna. There's a few ppl around here that I know who are certified in cisco and they're making very good money. They started at the bottom like everyone else, just worked their way up and in the end it was worth it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by darren316 View Post
meh!!! for 58 you can get all you need to practice/study with

MK, i would get this over the books TBH .. it comes with all you need plus pdfs

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CISCO-Mini-CCN...#ht_3401wt_941

If you go down the virtualization/automation path (which is where theres a massive amount of interest and jobs) ..

torrent VMware workstation 6.5.2 and install / play

Thing is I don't think I'll be doing the whole vm thing. It seems interesting, but I'm more interested in networking.

I may buy that router switch lab if I get the chance, but quick question though, that's ebay.uk, if i make a regular ebay.com account would i still be able to buy from there?

Edit:
I forgot i still have an ebay account (apparently) and going to the .uk one doesn't let me use my regular one, however I did find the exact same thing on .com and it's from the same company. Apparently 58 = $94. Unfortunately it won't let me ship to the US. France, Germany, Ireland and UK are the only places it'll ship to.
MarionetteKazuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:56 AM   #25
darren
... lol
 
darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ippy O Switch, UK
Posts: 11,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarionetteKazuk View Post
Right now I have a router simulator, and i already know it's very limited, but I'm using in the mean time until I either decide to buy some hardware to tinker with or rent out some lab time. Besides, CCNA is just the foot in the door, there's higher certs than that (ie: ccnp), and I really don't plan to just stop at ccna. There's a few ppl around here that I know who are certified in cisco and they're making very good money. They started at the bottom like everyone else, just worked their way up and in the end it was worth it.






Thing is I don't think I'll be doing the whole vm thing. It seems interesting, but I'm more interested in networking.

I may buy that router switch lab if I get the chance, but quick question though, that's ebay.uk, if i make a regular ebay.com account would i still be able to buy from there?

Edit:
I forgot i still have an ebay account (apparently) and going to the .uk one doesn't let me use my regular one, however I did find the exact same thing on .com and it's from the same company. Apparently 58 = $94. Unfortunately it won't let me ship to the US. France, Germany, Ireland and UK are the only places it'll ship to.
all i did was ebay search for cisco to find that .. is there anyone else with them? as tbh i'm not sure donig ccna is worth it without some cheap kit to play with, well for me i needed it anyway .. i hate learning from books ..

what would be VERY usuful is doing at least the ITILv3 foundation cert, people who can tie up high quality IT skill with process/best practice well are always in demand .. as they are still few and far between in a lot of places. The US with regards to international best practice is still a few years behind for some reason so its still quite hard to find people in the us with IT and ITIL (spent ages interviewing/rejecting cvs for some people in Dallas to do some work for the company i work for to find this out ..lol) .. So if you have both you would be putting big old boot in the door and not just a small foot .. lol

if you have time do the managers cert for v3 . howwever i will say as someone that marks the papers in the UK the exams are a shit .. lol .. but worth their weight in gold mate
__________________
Currently playing : Mass Effect 3
Playing next : Tales of the Abyss
Waiting on : Diablo 3
XBL Herr Lip Steam Butters' Bottom Bitch (http://steamcommunity.com/id/buttersbottombitch)
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 09:35 AM   #26
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
They were offering free Cisco certification in my HS, but you had to apply for it and have good grades, etc, and you lost all your other electives. Wasn't something I was into at the time, but the kids that participated stuck with it (that I know) and are doing well now.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 02:13 PM   #27
MarionetteKazuk
Problem?
 
MarionetteKazuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,835
Yeah, some kid at work told me his hs did that to. It was "free" but he just had to pay the book rental fees. I still think that was a pretty good deal. They didn't have it when i was in HS or at least never heard about it.
MarionetteKazuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 05:16 PM   #28
Kiuju2k
Oh no!
 
Kiuju2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Riverside, california
Posts: 4,906
So give me a run down. Are you taking a class on this, or are you going to teach yourself then take whatever test that is required for certification?
__________________
"When life gives you shit. Make shit juice."

Zechin
Kiuju2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 01:11 AM   #29
MarionetteKazuk
Problem?
 
MarionetteKazuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,835
I'm teaching myself. If I feel the need to I'll take the classes, but If it's possible to learn on my own I'll do it (since classes cost money, i'm trying to save as much as I can).
MarionetteKazuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 05:25 PM   #30
Kiuju2k
Oh no!
 
Kiuju2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Riverside, california
Posts: 4,906
Cool. Keep me posted, tell me how it goes. I might do that on the side of my current school. Just to get my feet wet.
__________________
"When life gives you shit. Make shit juice."

Zechin
Kiuju2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.