The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2004, 01:44 PM   #1
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,197
Building a New PC

Well, my laptop is on it's last leg, and I've put it off long enough. It's time for a new PC.

I've already decided to build it myself, but I'm a little unsure on some times. So I thought I'd put my numbers up and get your opinion.

My case: http://www.thinkgeek.com/pcmods/cases/6ed1/
My card: http://www.gameve.com/gve/store/Prod...?sku=VC-SA-053
My Mobo/processor: http://www.bzboyz.com/store/product234.html
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 12-12-2004, 02:52 PM   #2
ChaosX721
1337 G/-\[]V[]3R
 
ChaosX721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 672
Cool. What else you going to put in it?
__________________
(-_(-_(-_-)_-)_-)

(>^_^)>
ChaosX721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 03:12 PM   #3
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,922
Another severe case that calls for my uber computer knowledge, I see...

Sorry, don't understand a word. :(
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 03:14 PM   #4
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
WTF?! What prices are these, American? If so then NEVER go to that site again. Christ almost had a heart attack looking at those. Also dont buy cards with SE at the end. I'll give you an example...

X800 = Strong man

X800SE= Strong man with penis surgically removed.

Tell me which one will be the more superior.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 05:32 PM   #5
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosX721
Cool. What else you going to put in it?
I was looking at 2 gigs of ram. a DVD-R+, 2 200 gig hard drives and a cheap 5.1 or 6.1 surround sound card. I can get that stuff on the cheap though. So it's not that much of an issue. I'm mostly worried about my mobo, my graphics card and my processor. I'm also looking at a Xeon 3.6 ghz, but that too is buko bucks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alucard
X800 = Strong man

X800SE= Strong man with penis surgically removed.

Tell me which one will be the more superior.
Techincally, the strong man with the penis surgically removed would be stronger, but I see what your saying. I'll take that into consideration.
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 06:20 PM   #6
crystalclear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 154
2x 200GB Hard Drives :O crikey, i have one 200GB hard Drive and i use my computer basically everyday and this baby will never fill up.
I suggest getting a Gigabyte Mobo, i got mine for $99(Aussie, inc. shipping) and it has upto 3GB 4400 DDR Ram, 800MHZ FSB, 6 channel 5.1 Ac'97 codec onboard(same as the Mobo you posted), AGP 8X/4X, lotsa PCI slots e.t.c
although it was for Intel Pentium chips, but $927 seems like WAY WAY WAY too much for a Mobo, and if thats american dollars thats even more ridiculous.
I have no problems with my computer, runs perfect i couldnt ask for anything more (well, maybe a better GFX card ) and i put about $900 into ALL the parts not just one part
crystalclear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 06:25 PM   #7
Sinful Sam
gnarf! gnarf!
 
Sinful Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Five min away from SavedFromSin
Posts: 8,761
Good example, but couldn't you pick something else instead of the penis.
__________________
Join our Discord channel!!!
https://discord.gg/htgtYqy


STEAM: Sinfulsam
PSN: Sinfulsam
Sinful Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 08:24 PM   #8
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
At 3am my brain works how it wishes. But those prices were way too obscene. For what he wants to buy he could spend half that amount easy. I also wouldnt recommend the Abit board. But an SE card, of any card, just no.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 08:33 PM   #9
ChaosX721
1337 G/-\[]V[]3R
 
ChaosX721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 672
WOW $900 i didnt see that when i looked. Thats way too much!!
__________________
(-_(-_(-_-)_-)_-)

(>^_^)>
ChaosX721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2004, 11:02 PM   #10
Reivenlocke
Leeeeroy Jenkinzzzzz!
 
Reivenlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sapporo, Japan
Posts: 1,303
If you have removed and replaced drives, memory, and CPUs in the past, the only stretch you need to make is fitting the motherboard. Also, throwing together a computer is easier now than it was 5 years ago. Before, you had to set jumpers according the CPU speed and what not. Now nearly everything is plug and play.
__________________
"Brains....Brains....brainsbrainsbrains....BRAINNN NNS!" - Stubbs the Zombie mimicking Patton

"In the 80s, I was in bed by 8......and home by 11! OH!" - Glen Quagmire, Family Guy

"Good guy wins, bad guy loses. BIG FRIGGIN SURPRISE THERE!" - White Goodman, Dodgeball
Reivenlocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2004, 06:22 AM   #11
SpaceManSpiff
Spiff to the Rescue!!
 
SpaceManSpiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 3,635
Motherboard- http://www.buyxg.com/store/item.asp?id=313

Processor- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-463&depa=1

Those are both really good parts for their price imo. Though this processor has a smaller micron or whateverhttp://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-498&depa=1 , so its better, but is out of stock at newegg and is a little more. Depends on how much you plan on spending.
__________________
Steam, Xbox Live, PSN, and Apple Gamecenter: xSpacemanspiff
SpaceManSpiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2004, 12:05 PM   #12
suronosuke
MadGuy
 
suronosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London
Posts: 323
X800SE (special edition) think of the Special Edition as in Special like the yellow bus that takes the kids to the schools.
__________________
WARNING: The above post may contain sex, sex with violence, sexualised violence, violence but sexualised, violent drugs,sex with drugs and violence with sex.
suronosuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2004, 06:13 PM   #13
ovejon
Registered User
 
ovejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Isla del Encanto
Posts: 323
Bombay, thats one serious setup you have there Man I can't believe that you are going to buy a fx-53 which is a killer chip. If you're willing to put that much cash into your computer, why not wait a little longer so that you can build a sli system? Still, that is one killer rig
ovejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 06:24 AM   #14
skanda
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool combination man...
It's a pitty that i don't have enough money to do something like that to my machine...
Anyway, my "old box" is still running, so i'm happy.......... FOR NOW...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 04:00 PM   #15
IoriYagami n8
Pinkerton
 
IoriYagami n8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: A steampunk fantasy land...
Posts: 2,959
I just dumped a Radeon X800 card into my system a few days ago, pretty nice. Been playing City of Heroes, Doom 3, and Rome: Total War on it. So far, the only framrate issues I've been able to pull are from maxing each game. But that also might be a system RAM limitation as well, won't know until I grab myself some more of this fancy DDR2 ram that my new board supports. I seriously doubt the card is going to play Rome Total War with 6 players and full settings maxed out without some problems though, no matter what you do. Now stacking some GeForce 6 cards might work, I've seen two of them being used to run Doom 3 fully pimped out and butter smooth.
__________________
Steampunk sex kittens!
IoriYagami n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.