The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2007, 02:44 AM   #1
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,596
ATI's R600 reveiled. Pics and Info.

Quote:
http://vr-zone.com/?i=4622



VR-Zone has learned about some new details on 80nm R600 today and there will be 2 SKUs at launch; XTX and XT. There will be 2 versions of R600XTX; one is for OEM/SI and the other for retail. Both feature 1GB DDR4 memories on board but the OEM version is 12.4" long to be exact and the retail is 9.5" long. The above picture shows a 12.4" OEM version. The power consumption of the card is huge at 270W for 12" version and 240W for 9.5" version. As for R600XT, it will have 512MB of GDDR3 memories onboard, 9.5" long and consumes 240W of power. Lastly, there is a cheaper R600XL SKU to be launched at a later date.
Look at the size of that thing. And check out those power requirements..
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 02-11-2007, 02:58 AM   #2
burpingcat
Really Enjoys The Magic Box
 
burpingcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,152
Can I run two in SLI?!?!
burpingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 04:27 AM   #3
fruitsofherwomb
False Orders Begone
 
fruitsofherwomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dezolis
Posts: 2,054
that thing is ugly stupid retarded and shit. WTF.


benchmarks vs 7800 plz.
__________________
^ disregard that, I suck Cock.
fruitsofherwomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 04:32 AM   #4
fruitsofherwomb
False Orders Begone
 
fruitsofherwomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dezolis
Posts: 2,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by burpingcat
Can I run two in SLI?!?!
ATI cards don't use SLI technology.
__________________
^ disregard that, I suck Cock.

Last edited by fruitsofherwomb; 02-11-2007 at 06:16 AM.
fruitsofherwomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 05:43 AM   #5
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
I hope thats you just having a laugh fruits.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 10:15 AM   #6
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,315
a little bit higher than the 8800GTX for power and size.

But why is the OEM model bigger by 3 inches?

I hope the fan is quiet on it, I finally made the computer I have now almost silent, you can barely hear it, the only thing you hear is my videocard fan.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 11:47 AM   #7
Antipilor
Predating Jesus by 1 mil.
 
Antipilor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 728
Well I know I CAN'T get the oem one, it simply will not fit into my case. It looks like the oem's fan is connected onto the END of the board, blowing air across the entire card. Likely the retail version will mount the fan on top like their other cards. That's A LOT of power and honestly I think it should probably come with it's own power connector. Getting power externally would save from having to upgrade to a ridiculously huge power supply.
__________________
Refuse is our inspiration, Terrorism our trade
Sabotage and piracy, Chaos our mental state
In the age of super-boredom, Hype and mediocrity
Celebrate relentlessness, Menace to society
Antipilor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 01:30 PM   #8
Mistatee
Linguistic Massacre
 
Mistatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rain Central, WA
Posts: 4,836
They hard cards like that at one point. Except I believe the power connector took an extra-PCI slot, and left the back of the case exposed to dust and such. It wasn't recieved well.
__________________
C'mon get back on your feet!
Mistatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 03:23 PM   #9
IoriYagami n8
Pinkerton
 
IoriYagami n8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: A steampunk fantasy land...
Posts: 2,959
Yeah, the earlier version of the R600 (with out optimized drivers) was beating out the 8800GTX 95% of the time on benchmarks by a margin of 8% on the low end, and 45% on the high end.

You aren't suppose to be getting the OEM version unless you are buying it built into the machine, in which case it will fit just fine. You are suppose to be picking up the retail version, which will be as long as the 8800GTX (still long). Quite a few people don't upgrade to huge power supplies. A lot of people have started using two cheap ones.

The R600 is probably the DX10 card I'll be picking up. I've had better performance and quality out of my ATI cards. They also tend to perform better when running FSAA and AA features than nVidia cards.
__________________
Steampunk sex kittens!
IoriYagami n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 04:39 PM   #10
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,315
I'm going to be upgrading to at least a 700 watt PSU, hopefully that will be good enough.
Waiting for some info first before buying a certain one I'm getting.

Hopefully these cards won't be too expensive, if they are around or cheaper than the 8800GTX, I'm sold and I'm going to get the retail XTX. But only after some reviews of it first, if it ends up being a card that over heats easily, I might just get the 512 XT model instead and just get those in Crossfire later on.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.