The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2007, 04:45 PM   #61
Zachalmighty
Future Demon King
 
Zachalmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA, NJ
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard
lol dont look at me. My pings would die if I played an fps to a different country.
lol the funny thing is I AM playing with people from other countries.
__________________
An unavoidable war is called JUSTICE. When brutality is the only option left, it is HOLY.
Zachalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 03:09 AM   #62
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
Well if I were to connect to an american server I'd go to around 300 or 400 ping. Thats just bad for fps games. Here, test yourself to adelaide in Australia.

http://www.speedtest.net/
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 10:48 AM   #63
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,617
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 11:19 AM   #64
Zachalmighty
Future Demon King
 
Zachalmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA, NJ
Posts: 3,742




The funny thing is that I think a line going the other way through my country instead of through an ocean would have lower ping and actually be a shorter distance.
__________________
An unavoidable war is called JUSTICE. When brutality is the only option left, it is HOLY.
Zachalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 04:15 PM   #65
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
Either of you try and play an FPS with those pings and you'll be dead before you even know it. Literally. Your chaarcter will be standing but you actually got killed about 2-3 seconds ago.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 08:46 PM   #66
AmishNazi
Skag Killer Extraordanaire
 
AmishNazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,136


Oh now I have to game with you sometime Alucard....
__________________
Reader, suppose you were an idiot.
And suppose you were a member of Congress, but I repeat myself.

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.
- Mark Twain
AmishNazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 01:16 AM   #67
George Foreman
Registered User
 
George Foreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 984

YAY!!! I AM TEH WINNER!!!
__________________
Pizza!
George Foreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 01:29 AM   #68
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,617
I demand to know your interwebs provider.
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 02:45 AM   #69
AmishNazi
Skag Killer Extraordanaire
 
AmishNazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,136
University connection.... says so at the bottom
__________________
Reader, suppose you were an idiot.
And suppose you were a member of Congress, but I repeat myself.

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.
- Mark Twain
AmishNazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 01:32 PM   #70
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188




just for the hell of it, this is from my mom's computer, a midrange dell. I should get even better numbers when i officially move into my new place and upgrade to an 8 mb connection (currently @ 6).

@ these numbers would i lag? I haven't played pc games since the original CS. Do people still use gamespy?

Last edited by Chronos; 06-24-2007 at 01:42 PM.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 02:00 PM   #71
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
I think gamespy is mainly for america.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 03:18 PM   #72
Zachalmighty
Future Demon King
 
Zachalmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA, NJ
Posts: 3,742
Gamespy=crap, sometimes.
__________________
An unavoidable war is called JUSTICE. When brutality is the only option left, it is HOLY.
Zachalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 09:49 PM   #73
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard
End of July or around August would be an excellent time to upgrade actually. Thats when theres a few big discounts coming for the intel cpus. Lets see...


DvD drive - Pioneer 212D. Buy anything else and DEATH to you! $34

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827129008


Ram- Corsair XMS DDR2-675. 2gigs. $70 Otherwise $113 for DDR2-800 speed.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145167

CPU - I guess the intel Dual Core2 E6400. I could of said 6300 but thats only $20 cheaper so no point. $187. If you wait till the specials hit in july/august, the quad core intel Q6600 I think it is, is jumping down from $500 to $230. Ofcourse thats an extra $50 so maybe leave that for a future upgrade. Ofcourse the cpu I'm recommending could possibly go down by then.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115004


GPU - This ones a strange one. It'll be your choice entirely. I'm going to recommend the 8800GTS because theres no point buying a cheaper card and then getting the dx10 card later in the year or next year. You'll be wasting it on the cheaper card so zero need. Now theres two ways you can go, the 32mb version or the 640mb version.

320mb version - $284
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122022


640mb version - $360

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127280

You ask whats the difference between both. With most games very little. The two big engines from Valve and ID run the same, no clue about the Unreal 3 engine but I'd suspect it would be no different. Theres only a few games that have a big incease with the 640mb and thats Neverwinter Nights 2, company of heroes, and a couple others. They bounce anywhere from 10fps more to 30fps. Heres a link with mroe info

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...00gts-640.html



As for motherboard, thats a messy one altogether right now. Theres so many ways of going. This is one I'd suggest thats very stable, has a great layout and good cooling control, plenty of room, and a very high list of future upgrade potential in cpu.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130081

$145 for this one. Its the 650i chipset. The newer one with more features is the 680i, but you're going to be going into the mid $200s if you do that. Board already has ethernet usb stuff on it.

I'm not touching the tower however. You need to be careful with those cause the 8800GTS/GTX wont fit in some. Theres a list somewhere of cases that have the room, I'll have to look for it. But make sure the powersupply you pick is 650watts or higher.



SO! wTF have I done above..lemme check. Probably something obscene and expensive no doubt.

dvd- $34
ram- $70
board - $145
cpu - $187
video card - $284 or $360

Also remember theres rebates all over the place for the stuff above. So we come to...
lol $720 or $780 depending on card. Not counting rebates but maybe that'll go down $100. Ofcourse I'm not adding in postage. The case and powersupply combo will most likely reach $200 at most.

Yeah thats a bit expensive. However its a setup that should give you full detail in practically every game for the next 2-3 years with zero problem. Lower a couple details and the pc is set for 4years. I'd be interested in how dx10 games perform on vista with 2 of 4gigs of ram though. Also if you really want you could spend around $150 or something on a good dx9 card, but really thats only $100 or so less. No point if you're gonna replace it in 6-8months.

Thats just way too much effort I did there...
i forgot to say well done with this post. i'll most likely end up ordering almost all of these parts. can't really find better and i've been looking around since i lost my laptop. may get an hddvd drive but haven't done any research on them yet, and as for the tower i'm debating between a few that will fit the 8800
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 07:16 AM   #74
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
For the hddvd drive, you can just buy the one thats for the 360 and plug it into your monitor. Works the same. Saw my friend using it. Although he did have an lcd monitor with extra conntectors in the side of it.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 02:51 PM   #75
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
Good call. i may actually buy one of those now.

*ordering stuff as i type. in your opinion is the DDR2 800 worth the extra $40 or should i go with the linked 675 for $79?

*also thinking of maybe ordering something like a p4 which i can get for say $40, last me a month, and then get the quad core. otherwise i'm going to have a heap of parts just sitting around and no processor at all.

Last edited by Chronos; 06-29-2007 at 03:03 PM.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.