The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2007, 12:47 AM   #1
Risky
Stop right there criminal scum!
 
Risky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: World -1
Posts: 3,064
Laptop help

I got a free broken laptop, but I think I can fix it. I just need you guys' help! So here goes:

I turned it on and this error message pops up:

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

Winnt_root\System32\Ntoskrnl.exe

Please re-install a copy of the above file.


I look up how to fix that and it says you need the XP CD or whatever. So I try that out, but now the laptop won't even turn on anymore. The power light comes on and the HDD spins for a few seconds before the laptops just DIES and the power light remains on and I can still open the DVD drive and whatnot. I've tried it with AC cord and took out the battery but still no luck. What can you guys recommend as a viable solution for saving this thing???
Risky is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 02-19-2007, 12:52 AM   #2
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
If nothing comes up your only shot is reformat. You need a copy of windows FOR that laptop. You will need all the drivers aswell.
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:05 AM   #3
Risky
Stop right there criminal scum!
 
Risky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: World -1
Posts: 3,064
Yeah, the thing is I can't even get it to boot up. It just turns on for a few seconds then shuts off, blank screen the entire time. Except the first time I turned it on when that error message came up. Thanks so far!
Risky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:10 AM   #4
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
Do you have the disks that were bundled with the laptop? If so insert the restore disk or whatever the equiv is and try to boot to the menu. If you dont have that then Im afraid I have no idea how you would go about reformating that drive. The only way I can think of would be to get the adapter and reformat the laptops hdd on your PC.
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:13 AM   #5
Mistatee
Linguistic Massacre
 
Mistatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rain Central, WA
Posts: 4,836
The HDD might be corrupted
try a new Laptop HDD
__________________
C'mon get back on your feet!
Mistatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:27 AM   #6
Risky
Stop right there criminal scum!
 
Risky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: World -1
Posts: 3,064
I read that could be an issue as well, but I don't currently have access to another laptop HDD.
Risky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:39 AM   #7
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,643
www.newegg.com is your friend

just look for 2.5 inch HDDs

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152501 like this for example.

just find a cheapass one to test it out or if you know someone with a laptop and is willing to test to see if it will boot up.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:45 AM   #8
Risky
Stop right there criminal scum!
 
Risky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: World -1
Posts: 3,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider-prime
www.newegg.com is your friend

just look for 2.5 inch HDDs

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152501 like this for example.

just find a cheapass one to test it out or if you know someone with a laptop and is willing to test to see if it will boot up.

Yeah, I'm gonna see if I can't borrow a friends HDD. I also read that it could be a motherboard issue. That's what my gf's brother said that the Geek Squad people at Best Buy told him what was wrong with it.
Risky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:55 AM   #9
Northeastmonk
Registered User
 
Northeastmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,991
Ghost in safe mode? F2 before boot. It nothing..hmmm
All I've used personally have been Dells. It sounds like a HD problem. System 32 sounds so familiar. I have my 700 page novel here from that class.

Last edited by Northeastmonk; 02-19-2007 at 02:00 AM.
Northeastmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:55 AM   #10
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,643
If they're working at bestbuy, they have no fucking clue.

But if you can't figure it out, take it a computer place that does tech support for laptops, as long if it's free tho to test it tho, they can usually figure these problems with their tools to see if the Motherboard is fried or not.

I used to have the tools for that, but I broke them.... I don't know why. I felt like breaking them.

like also, you could just have a bad battery and might need a new one. could be lots of reasons why it won't start up anymore.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:58 AM   #11
Risky
Stop right there criminal scum!
 
Risky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: World -1
Posts: 3,064
thanks, yeah Geek Squad isn't the greatest place to fix computer stuff, blame her brother. I'm new to the whole laptop thing and @NEM, I can't get it to even boot the CD's that I have.
Risky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 02:00 AM   #12
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,643
Do you remember what the error message was? beeps? or a number code?

Also, does the laptop still turn on? or not at all anymore
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 02:09 AM   #13
Northeastmonk
Registered User
 
Northeastmonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,991
ok. If that is suppost to fix that problem. did you end up seeing a Ghost appear in the top right hand of your screen. When you put such a cd inside your drive. You're suppost to go into the BIOS and make sure the CD Drive boots first. Then save, it will restart with the options for reformatting. I did the same crap when AOL installed enormous files on my labtop.

The screen is black:
1. Did you take the disc back out
2. Did you do a power cycle. Let it sit without power or plugged into an outlet?
3. Is the battery charged, or dead.
4. Pressed ESC when it comes up or Alt-ctrl-dlt?
5. I'm not a quiz at this, just letting you know what I've been taught.

And make sure you dont turn it off while the harddrive is running. Unless its fcking up!.

My book is all excercises.
Northeastmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 02:09 AM   #14
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
Depends on what branch your at. I have a buddy that is on the geek squad and he is ace as PC repair.
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 02:11 AM   #15
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,643
I used to work with a tech support company, so I know how to fix the old fat macs with the tube monitors lol they made me! I SWEAR!
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.