The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 01:37 AM   #16
GrantXP
Registered User
 
GrantXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 952
Things you can't scrimp on:

Video card / Motherboard / PSU

Things you can:

Case (Can come later)
PSU (Depends if you want quiet or not)
RAM (Easy to upgrade and cheap. Get what you need to run your toughest app. 8GB is pointless when 4 is enough and you can probably buy the same 4GB stick in a year half price to upgrade)
Hard Drive (More hard drives can be shoved in later)

In short focus on the key 3 componants for the build IMO
__________________
Currently Playing:
Xbox 360: (GrantX360) Red Dead Redemption, Orange Box, NBA 2K11
PS3: Little Big PlanetRecently Finished: Heavy Rain
Grant's latest reviews - Click Here Latest Review: Bioshock (Xbox 360)
GrantXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 02:47 AM   #17
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Actually 4gigs isnt enough. I've seen a huge difference going from 4 to 8. Now I dont care if I have certain programs or games that have a memory leak over time. MMOs for example are notorious for them. When you play one you're there for hours. The longer you play, the more your pc starts to act stupid. Unless they fix the leak. Firefox for example, biggest fucking leak of a whore if there ever was one.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 02:56 AM   #18
GrantXP
Registered User
 
GrantXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 952
Alucard, potentially you are right it depends on useage. But I am sure you will agree that sticking extra ram in if it doesnt suit your needs is easier than a processor upgrade.
__________________
Currently Playing:
Xbox 360: (GrantX360) Red Dead Redemption, Orange Box, NBA 2K11
PS3: Little Big PlanetRecently Finished: Heavy Rain
Grant's latest reviews - Click Here Latest Review: Bioshock (Xbox 360)
GrantXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 05:41 AM   #19
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Sure. But if you have a pc primarily for gaming, you probably should be looking at 8gigs if you're running Win7 and 4gigs if you're running XP. To be fair 8gigs is pretty cheap now days.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:38 PM   #20
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
yeah I was going to up the power supply

and I said best of the best within my available price range, can't spend 5-600 bucks on a video card, thats almost as much as what i'm selling my pc for.

why go msi? the one I have linked has higher specs right? i'm by no means an expert but the gigabyte seems to have higher numbers, specifically the core clock (1000mhz) and effective memory clock (4580mhz)
gigabyte: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125362

msi: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-569-_-Product

also i'm not going below 8 gigs, as I said I need all the power I can, not only do I record all of my footage which takes retard amount of processing power, but i do video editing as well.

and yeah, firefox sucks, it's why I moved to chrome years ago, biggest resource hog ever
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 12:06 AM   #21
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Extra 2 games too cant hurt. Go the gigabyte.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 12:15 AM   #22
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,553
Also since you're getting a MB that uses SATAIII, get the western Digital black that uses 64MB cache, they are incredibly fast, great for gaming. I put a 640Gb version in my brother's computer, loads everything up really fast. I can't wait to build a new computer for myself now.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:59 AM   #23
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
EDIT NVM, motherboard comes with both

EDIT: gosh dang it that video card is out of stock and I can't find the freaking thing anywhere else

Last edited by Vegetto; 03-08-2011 at 05:43 PM.
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 03:41 PM   #24
Dj Jimmi Zero
Registered User
 
Dj Jimmi Zero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard View Post
Actually 4gigs isnt enough.
If what you say is true, then that means that I should be able to run all my games with no stuttering if I upgrade. I have 4gigs of DDR3 and my PC is capable of dual channel and I can max my mb up to 16gigs if I wanted. What does dual channel do? Will going to 8 or 16gigs make a dramatic difference? Do I need to OC my PC to get it to do dual channel?
__________________
PSN ID: DjJimmi Windows Live: Dj Jimmi 0

Ganguro Gals fo Life!
Dj Jimmi Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 12:53 AM   #25
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Dual channel is better. Slightly faster. And its just normal, no OC. You just buy the ram that come as packs of 2 instead of single ones. You'll notice things load faster from 4gigs to 8gigs. After 8 you wont notice much so theres little point. But yeah, if you're running win7 and play lots of games, totally put in the extra money for 8gigs. Make sure they're all the same brand/speed. Example, G.skill 1066 4gb.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 03:05 PM   #26
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
oh wow guys, i'm on the ropes here, should I go for socket 1336 or 1155?

the second gen 1155 cpu is awesome, 3.4 ghz: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...5-_-tigeremail

this is what I was going to get: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115224
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:07 PM   #27
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,553
If you have the extra cash to spend, sure do it! You will need it for BF3!!!!!!!!
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:32 PM   #28
zechin
THERE IS NO BATHROOM!
 
zechin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,849
It depends if you're looking to upgrade again.

The i7-2600k is excellent and you wont need to upgrade for a long while.

get the 1366 socket if, you want to make it slightly more future proof so you can upgrade again when the next line of things come out, and dont mind it being slightly inferior to the excellent 2600k.
zechin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 03:17 AM   #29
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
The 2000 series of chips have a shitty issue where they degrade quickly. Ignore them.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 12:19 PM   #30
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
think i'll stick with the 960, and yeah, 1366 is more future proof

so here's my revised list, got faster ram, changed the mobo since the first was too dodgy for my comfort, switched to a full tower case for my heatsink to fit in and had to go for another video card since the one I want was like super limited released, it's still 950MHZ core clocked so it's not too much lower spec'd

CASE: AZZA Solano 1000 Black/Black Japanese SECC Steel/Metal mesh in front ATX Full Tower Computer Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811517004

Mother Board: ASUS P6X58D-E LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131641

Video card: GIGABYTE Super Overclock Series GV-N560SO-1GI-950 GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125369

Power Supply: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139006

RAM, getting two sets of these: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231277

DISC DRIVE, pretty much only need this for a few games/programs and to install my OS (will most likely be getting a bluray drive in the future): ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827135204

Heatsink: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm CPU Cooler Compatible Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103065

Total: $1,140.91
-800 for selling my current PC
costing me 340 bucks, around what I was going to end up paying to get a new cpu for my current PC, lul
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.