The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2005, 09:21 AM   #16
crystalclear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 154
My old family PC was:
350mhz Pentium II
192mb ram
Windows 98
24x CD drive
2GB HD(upgraded to 20GB)

My new PC is:
Pentium 4 - 2.6ghz
768mb DDR 333mhz Ram
48xCD-burner
8xDual Layer +- DVD Burner
200GB Hard Drive(1x40GB, 1x 160GB)
AGB 8x 128MB Radeon 9200

My first PC ive ever put together, im not ginna need anither PC for a long, long, long time
.
crystalclear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 10:48 AM   #17
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
You'll have to upgrade that video card if you plan on keeping the system for a long long time. It was outdated a while back. Rest if quite nice.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 12:00 PM   #18
Hallucinus
Registered User
 
Hallucinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 395
pc games suck
i dont like first person shooters or mmorpgs
__________________
how long could this really go on?
some things need testing...
Hallucinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 11:23 PM   #19
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
Look out people, PCs only have first person shooters and mmorpgs. Guess I'll go back to my console and play a sports game or 3rd person action game.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 03:36 PM   #20
AbandonwareGirl
Registered User
 
AbandonwareGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genobuster
Your PC is god compared to mine...

Windows 98
300MHz Intel Pentium
96 MB RAM
Desktop 1024x769
7.3 GB HD
Cable Connection

No USB or PS/2 ports either, I have to use some like, spliters and converters for a keyboard and mouse.
Good god! your computer is so much better then mine
check my specs out:

windows 98 SE
90MHz Intel Pentium
16 MB Ram
Desktop 800x600 at true color
800 MB HD
no usb or ps2 for me either.
i have a serial mouse, and a 5 pin keyboard.
__________________
- Proud to NOT be Console Biased -

- We're Kicking Ass and Taking Names :kill:-
- Live In Your World, Play In Ours -

- Proud Gamecube and Playstation Two Owner -
AbandonwareGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 04:06 PM   #21
Hallucinus
Registered User
 
Hallucinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 395
is it possible to run a browser on that thing???
__________________
how long could this really go on?
some things need testing...
Hallucinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 06:02 PM   #22
AbandonwareGirl
Registered User
 
AbandonwareGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hallucinus
is it possible to run a browser on that thing???
I wouldn't know.. i only use it for images and old dos games/low end windows games...
__________________
- Proud to NOT be Console Biased -

- We're Kicking Ass and Taking Names :kill:-
- Live In Your World, Play In Ours -

- Proud Gamecube and Playstation Two Owner -
AbandonwareGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 06:26 PM   #23
Sinful Sam
gnarf! gnarf!
 
Sinful Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Five min away from SavedFromSin
Posts: 8,767
You know you can buy a much better computer around $500 dollars. Even less if you build one.
__________________
Join our Discord channel!!!
https://discord.gg/htgtYqy


STEAM: Sinfulsam
PSN: Sinfulsam
Sinful Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 02:20 PM   #24
AbandonwareGirl
Registered User
 
AbandonwareGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Oh... i know.. i eventually will... but the whole point is for it to be a cool retro computer.. just gotta get a pentium 200 mhz and 16 more megs of memory and a bigger hard drive.. ^_^
__________________
- Proud to NOT be Console Biased -

- We're Kicking Ass and Taking Names :kill:-
- Live In Your World, Play In Ours -

- Proud Gamecube and Playstation Two Owner -
AbandonwareGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 04:32 PM   #25
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,197
...kay. I don't really understand the rational behind that but...::Shrugs:: To each their own I suppose.
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 07:07 PM   #26
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
Having a system that can play old retro/dos style games is an awesome thing to have. Problem is I still dont see why its not possible for you to keep that one, and also buy a more up to date system.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 07:51 PM   #27
Zod
All hail the hypno-toad!!
 
Zod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlands
Athlon XP 3200+
512 DDR
160 GB HD
Windows XP
8x Double Layered DVD-/+RW
Nvidia Geforce 4 MX
Cable.

500$

Need to get a new Graphics card and a new processor, Athlon 64 =P

Mine has the same specs, except no lcd monitor and no GeForce card. I am still using the old 19" tube monitor from my previous PC, and haven't added a video card even though I should.
__________________
The man who reads nothing at all is better educated than the man who reads nothing but newspapers.
~Thomas Jefferson
Zod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 05:19 AM   #28
rztyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
my pc
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.7ghz (overclocked)
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum SLI Motherboard (Could use 2 video cards to dual!)
MSI nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT 128mb DDR3
Rosewill 1GB DDR
160GB HD
rztyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 09:42 AM   #29
FinalSolace2
IRAQ- Please assimilate forget past
 
FinalSolace2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: london
Posts: 4,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbandonwareGirl
Good god! your computer is so much better then mine
check my specs out:

windows 98 SE
90MHz Intel Pentium
16 MB Ram
Desktop 800x600 at true color
800 MB HD
no usb or ps2 for me either.
i have a serial mouse, and a 5 pin keyboard.
thats sooo cute!!! and your a girl!!

my pc is definatly a bit of a banger, it suprises me how you got around the low-spec aspect, i guess you mainly only use the internet!!!

Quote:
My old family PC was:
350mhz Pentium II
192mb ram
Windows 98
24x CD drive
2GB HD(upgraded to 20GB)

My new PC is:
Pentium 4 - 2.6ghz
768mb DDR 333mhz Ram
48xCD-burner
8xDual Layer +- DVD Burner
200GB Hard Drive(1x40GB, 1x 160GB)
AGB 8x 128MB Radeon 9200
the former is similar to my current pc except its got 92-6 ram only lol

the question i gotta ask you, did upgrading your pc severly improve your quality of life in any way!
i cant knock up the motivation to spend loadsa money on a cheapish gaming system.
__________________


Crowfoot (American Blackfoot Indian Orator) on his deathbed:"What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset."

Last edited by FinalSolace2; 02-26-2005 at 09:46 AM.
FinalSolace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 07:52 AM   #30
Icarus4578
Deal with it.
 
Icarus4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,550
My PC specs~

Windows 2020
756,990MHz Pentium Xanadu 7-P
10 Billion MB RAM
Desktop 4800x3600 resolution
450 TB HD
Holographic Interface

Everybody should be up to these specs. If not, your PC is outdated and can't play Doom 7.
Icarus4578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.