The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2005, 01:31 PM   #16
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,197
I use a combination of AVG and Norton Internet Security (Because I got a year free with my laptop). I always cancel the Norton scan, but I run AVG every day while I'm at class. It works out really nicely.
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 11:39 PM   #17
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
I tried firefox...it seems way too slow to me, I cant handle it...plus does it have all the neccasary plug ins?? I.E. Flash, Java, etc
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 06:31 AM   #18
Reko8
Registered User
 
Reko8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MA, Usa
Posts: 3,077
ok I installed Norton 2005 and made my comp worse. I couldnt access ragnarok becasue it kept trying to disconnect it and so on. SO i un-installed it and my comp runs really slow now. Im trying out AVG see how that works and im going to downlaod a new browser. Maybe the one you guys keep using. Ill keep you updated.
Reko8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 06:53 PM   #19
ovejon
Registered User
 
ovejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Isla del Encanto
Posts: 323
Norton tends to be a resource hog so i suggest you trying avg which is free but it also has its limits. Nanofox has a nice list and out of those i've tried Antivir and I can say that i'm satisfied with it. As for the browser, firefox is a good candidate. Some people find it slow like vegeto here, but other says it's faster. check this article out http://www.tweakguides.com/Firefox_1.html and you can do some tweaks to make it faster. There are also some extension worth checking out like the tabbrowser preferences.
ovejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 02:02 AM   #20
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
thanks ovejon preciate it
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 01:32 PM   #21
Reko8
Registered User
 
Reko8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MA, Usa
Posts: 3,077
OK it turns out it wasnt a virus after all, it was actually a bad battery pack in the modem and the modem was having trouble receiving signal. Thanks guys for lsiting great ideas and stuff.
Reko8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 11:55 PM   #22
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Does noone read when I say ignore norton? Sheesh!
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 12:58 AM   #23
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,392
Ive uninstalled Norton Alucard, all because of your wise counsel
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 04:23 AM   #24
Nano Fox
All your WIFI are belong to us!
 
Nano Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: I fell in love with a woman, but my family didn't like her. (Friend)Your parents? (Me) No, my wife and kids.
Posts: 1,164
Ya stay far away from nowesuckorton. and the older vers of IExploit. hence they pick up tons of flaws. even having xp/sp2 doesnt fix much hence they just open other ways. firefox can be slow, but safer. i do have most of those programs running, and they dont really slow me down much.

oh, did S&D have some bugs in there newest patch? cause im getting some strange errors... even reinstalled...
__________________
[Currently playing on PC]Worl of Tanks / Diablo 3 / Civ 5 / Starcraft 2 / Infested Planet / Battleline / Civ 6
Nano Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 02:37 PM   #25
Dr. Bombay
ificouldjustbemorehuman
 
Dr. Bombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Nexus Between Jersey and NYC
Posts: 9,197
When does Spybot not have bugs in it? You have to run both that and adaware to get a meaningful scan of your system
__________________
~There's a Door Here, But It Will Not Break~
~There's a Stone There, But It Won't Remain~
~Up There's a Heaven Now, But It Will Not Wait~
~And The Lies There, The Scent Of It, Just Too Much~

~So Should You~
~Sow It Once and Make It Grow, The Sweet Clematis~
~Let It Flower, and Paint it All Of The Colors Old~
Instantly Things Fall and Fade, Return to Silence~
~Why Oh Why, Why Does It All Feel So Sorrowful?~
~Dreams Of What Is Real~
Dr. Bombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.