The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2011, 06:26 PM   #16
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
So 8gig it is.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 06:29 PM   #17
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
12GB master race.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:26 PM   #18
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,623
Next year or a bit later than that, I'm going to build a more powerful computer cause that's when PCI-E 3.0 is supposed to come out, sure they are more expensive, but I'm going to build a powerful computer instead of a normal one. Been saving the pennies for this one. Coin saving really adds up if you don't touch them, my brother in one year had 3000 dollars in coins. He had 150 dollars in pennies alone.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:40 PM   #19
Icarus4578
Deal with it.
 
Icarus4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,550
Question: Why Windows 7 instead of XP? I thought that XP had the clear edge in terms of software compatibility.
__________________
Turn on the difference.
Icarus4578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:50 PM   #20
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icarus4578 View Post
Question: Why Windows 7 instead of XP? I thought that XP had the clear edge in terms of software compatibility.
Never had any comparability issues , but with windows 7 you get the latest DX version, which makes a big difference in most games, and physx support. Also 64 bit windows xp supports a meager 4gb total system ram; that's with gpu vram included.

As for ram just get the fastest non overclocked ram your motherboard will support. Non oc'd is important because the oc can be unstable even right from the manufacturer. Heat sinks are a useless gimmick on memory, so don't spend more for it.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:59 PM   #21
Icarus4578
Deal with it.
 
Icarus4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,550
Ah, that I didn't know. Thanks for the education. I wasn't aware that different versions had ram limitations.
__________________
Turn on the difference.
Icarus4578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:21 PM   #22
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
Never had any comparability issues , but with windows 7 you get the latest DX version, which makes a big difference in most games, and physx support. Also 64 bit windows xp supports a meager 4gb total system ram; that's with gpu vram included.

As for ram just get the fastest non overclocked ram your motherboard will support. Non oc'd is important because the oc can be unstable even right from the manufacturer. Heat sinks are a useless gimmick on memory, so don't spend more for it.
yup, I need it for Battlefield 3, it only supports Vista and 7.

That is why I'm getting those rams, they are the best for the price, I have fans pointed at the memory anyways, the heatsinks are just there for fun

I don't overclock, it's not worth it lowering the life of my parts when they heat up more and kill it faster.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 05:03 AM   #23
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,625
To be fair even if you get pci3 next year you'll still be waiting a couple generations worth of boards/cards before they actually get much use out of them. Unless they lift their game from the very start which I dont believe. But even if you buy a super pc this year you'll have it for the next 3-4 years loving stuff. Same as if you bought the pci3 next year, you'd get the same lifespam. Only difference is you'll put up with a little shit till you buy it. Go hard son. Do it now!
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 01:40 PM   #24
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,623
I went from a AGP slot computer to PCI-E 2.0, there was a huge difference lol

But I've settled to put a little more into the new 3d card and I am going to get the ASUS GTX560 Ti.

Does anyone know how much wattage it needs? my PSU is 600 watts. It's probably enough, I just want to make sure.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 01:53 PM   #25
darren
... lol
 
darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ippy O Switch, UK
Posts: 11,806
700 watt tbh .. The Asus is not the coolest of cards compared t the gigabyte or msi
__________________
Currently playing : Mass Effect 3
Playing next : Tales of the Abyss
Waiting on : Diablo 3
XBL Herr Lip Steam Butters' Bottom Bitch (http://steamcommunity.com/id/buttersbottombitch)
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 02:15 PM   #26
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,623
the DCII series of Asus cards have large fans and better heatsinks with heatpipes on them and with my motherboard which is ASUS, it auto controls the power going to each part so they don't over heat.

My computer the way it is now idles with really low heat and wattage. But the EPU system only works with ASUS products, which sucks, but oh well, I like their new cards, the only complaint I've heard about it is that it's a longer than the average 560 Ti. Which is fine for me, I'm going to move the stuff around the case to better reroute the PSU cords.

http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/N...i_DCII2DI1GD5/
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 03:35 PM   #27
darren
... lol
 
darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ippy O Switch, UK
Posts: 11,806
yeah nice card .. it was a toss up between that and the gigabyte i finally went for.. basically the day i bought one the gigabyte had 40 off the rrp which made it a few quid cheaper than the asus

you getting a new psu or sticking with the 600

..ohh btw i was talking about the msi and gigabyte 560ti cards being a lot cooler not older ones .. Alucard sent me some url with some stats on it the other day .. i'll dig it our for you

/edit/

heres the link only a few degrees in it tbh

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...te-msi-19.html
__________________
Currently playing : Mass Effect 3
Playing next : Tales of the Abyss
Waiting on : Diablo 3
XBL Herr Lip Steam Butters' Bottom Bitch (http://steamcommunity.com/id/buttersbottombitch)
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 03:48 PM   #28
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
If the 600 PSU is a good make like a Corsair, it'll be more than enough for a 560 ti rig.

I've always gone for Gigabyte or EVGA cards personally. I just get attracted to them.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 04:59 PM   #29
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,623
ooo didn't know about the MSI one, MSI it is now, it's even cheaper too.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 06:04 PM   #30
darren
... lol
 
darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ippy O Switch, UK
Posts: 11,806
Handy .. The gigabyte 560ti was cheaper than all of them here as dab.com had 30 of itvand it came with a free copy of Operation Flashpoint Red River as well
__________________
Currently playing : Mass Effect 3
Playing next : Tales of the Abyss
Waiting on : Diablo 3
XBL Herr Lip Steam Butters' Bottom Bitch (http://steamcommunity.com/id/buttersbottombitch)
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.