The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2003, 11:38 AM   #1
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,284
arggh stupid DVD+RW drive not working

ok all the talk about DVD burners and stuff, so I went out a got a DVD-RW disc

but when I go to burn first though windows XP, it says I need a CD

so ok, I just thought maybe its cause XP doesn't burn DVDs

so I try it under Nero 5.5, and it doesn't even see my dvd burner as a DVD burner, so it doesn't come up at all

I was going to upgrade my firmware for it to A301, but when reading, it says not to cause it wasn't design to run on OEM DVD of my LG GSA-4040B

I have no clue what the problem is

so I signed up at the www.dvdrhelp.com site to ask, but I can't ask any questions cause I have to wait 1 day arggh

so I thought I would ask here, anyone know anything that might fix this problem?
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 12-05-2003, 11:40 AM   #2
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,926
Hit it with a hammer.

(You are still on Ignore list, but I can still read topics)
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 12:01 PM   #3
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,284
lol ok I will take your advice on mind hahaha


damn your making burst a gut
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 12:40 PM   #4
Mooreberg
Registered User
 
Mooreberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 76
DVD+R and DVD-R (note the + and - ) discs/drives are not compatible. I learned this when I bought DVD+R discs which did not work on my DVD-R drive. Luckily I only spent a few bucks to get two of them...

What is the difference? I have no idea, but they don't work with each other. Make sure that if you have a DVD-R drive, you get DVD-R discs. I'm willing to bet this is your problem.
__________________
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

-Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989
Mooreberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 12:57 PM   #5
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Yes the DVD-R is very important. Also if you have the chance, take it back and swap it for a Pioneer if it isn't one. But by the sounds of it I dont think it is.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 01:06 PM   #6
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,284
I don't have to, it isn't the disc format

cause my drive can write to all of them, even DVD-RAM, its the main reason I got it

the problem is, its not being recongize has a burner

its not coming up in my list of drives that can burn cds and dvds

cause I also have a normal CD-RW drive too

http://www.lgeus.com/Product/CD/GSA_4040B.asp

this is the drive I got with my computer
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 02:03 PM   #7
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,284
ok I got it to work

but only under the Nero Express

for some reason, it won't work in any other software I have :???:

oh well

at least it works
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 02:06 PM   #8
Nindalf
Registered User
 
Nindalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,926
Try hitting it with a hammer.
Nindalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 03:05 PM   #9
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Sometimes you need specific burning programs from the maker. Like I had this one LG piece of **** and it would only work with a specific version of Nero that came with it. I know that makes zero sense but I swear its true. And I'm a PC person!
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 03:08 PM   #10
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,284
Quote:
Originally posted by Alucard
Sometimes you need specific burning programs from the maker. Like I had this one LG piece of **** and it would only work with a specific version of Nero that came with it. I know that makes zero sense but I swear its true. And I'm a PC person!

yeah I know what you mean

just like the 3d cards, some games work better for the other

same thing basically

but at least it works now, so I'm happy

even if the Nero 5.5 doesn't work or some of the other software I have

but at least I know it works just fine
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.