The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > Console Specifics > Nintendo Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2017, 01:23 PM   #1
Rubeus
Registered User
 
Rubeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,995
Physical Nintendo Switch carts don't require a mandatory install

I imagine it'll be like playing 3DS carts.

Click for full size


Quote:
Physical Nintendo Switch carts don't require a mandatory install


As most of us expected, you won't need to install data in a mandatory fashion when using a cart, like you would if you're using physical media on the Xbox One and PS4.

After booting up Zelda: Breath of the Wild on the Switch this week, I noticed that after popping the cart in, the game just loaded instantly and didn't require anything else. Although day one patches and possible "booster packs" (like faster load times and the like) are a possibility, you won't have any space issues if you're going solely physical. It's not like we expected there to be mandatory installs with a cartridge, but confirmation is always nice.

Going physical is particularly easy to do on the Switch at launch, as a ton of developers are releasing physical editions, even for ports.

https://www.destructoid.com/physical...l-420438.phtml
Rubeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 02-23-2017, 08:39 PM   #2
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,587
Likely the reason for this is because if you install Zelda, you literally use up HALF of the Switches available storage space...
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 03:00 AM   #3
Hagane
Unlucky dog
 
Hagane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Somewhere town nearby Tanuki City and Noizy Hill
Posts: 318
It was going to be another mess if they implemented mandatory install given the fact that the internal space is pretty low.

Now users will have to debate between dlc or digital downloads, this is great isn't it?
Hagane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 05:23 AM   #4
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,129
I just hope they allow for the sd card to be switched out for another one, the wii and wii u can do that, same with the 3ds, but the new 3ds only allows for one card at a time to ever work on it so data on another card won't work with it till you reformat it, so it makes me worried for the switch on this.

swapping out SD cards with digital games on them is the main reason I won't mind the space problem.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 12:46 PM   #5
Nem
Smash bro!
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: EU
Posts: 8,868
Yeah... the memory would go with 2 games if they did.
__________________
"Only those with narrow minds fail to see that the definition of Impossible is "Lack of imagination and incentive"" - DUNE:BJ
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 03:25 PM   #6
Rubeus
Registered User
 
Rubeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,995
So is the Switch OS based on Android? It should be swapable, in fact there are WiFi microsd cards out that that can connect your device to a hard drive on your PC, so you have unlimited disk space.
Rubeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 03:29 PM   #7
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider-prime View Post
I just hope they allow for the sd card to be switched out for another one, the wii and wii u can do that, same with the 3ds, but the new 3ds only allows for one card at a time to ever work on it so data on another card won't work with it till you reformat it, so it makes me worried for the switch on this.

swapping out SD cards with digital games on them is the main reason I won't mind the space problem.
I did not know this!
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 05:10 PM   #8
Joe Redifer
Olé!
 
Joe Redifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 20,025
It would be dumb to require an install unless the cards are super slow.
Joe Redifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 11:19 PM   #9
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by bujeezus View Post
I did not know this!
When I did the transfer from the 3ds to my new 3ds, it told me that data from another card must be combined on one sd card cause the 3ds won't allow data from another card later on and the card will only read from that new 3ds.
Some shit like that. So I couldn't have one card like the old 3ds with a set of games on it and then turn it off and switch it out with another one with more games on it.

If they allowed the cards to be switched out, then the memory problem isn't too bad then, just buy a 128gb card every so often.

Guess I will find out next week!
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.