The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 11:43 PM   #1
Escaflowne2001
... ... ... ...
 
Escaflowne2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Thetford, Norfolk, England
Posts: 17,416
Internet Connection Problems.

Bear in mind I'm pretty much a compelte novice when it comes to this sort of thing. Until about a week ago i've had no problems connecting to the internet but in the last week my Laptop cannot connect at all.

Instead I get this message "Windows can't connect to the hidden network". I have no idea what that is and I haven't changed any settings. It's just started to happen.

From what I can see on the Internet it seems to be a Windows 7 problem but I can't really see a solution (or a can't understand the solution). I can still connect wired with a ethernet cable it's only effecting the wireless.

Likewise it's only effecting my Laptop and not the desktop or other Laptop in the house.
Escaflowne2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 01-25-2013, 12:49 AM   #2
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
Is your laptop trying to save power by automatically turning off your wifi card?

Check it by right clicking the wifi meter on the bottom right task bar.
Open "Open Network and Sharing Center" and then "Change Adapter Settings" found in the left bar.
Right click on your wifi card and select "Properties."
In that menu, select the "Configure" button.
Then select the "Power Management" tab and make sure "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" is unchecked.
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:34 AM   #3
Escaflowne2001
... ... ... ...
 
Escaflowne2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Thetford, Norfolk, England
Posts: 17,416
Hmmm... It wasn't that. It was ticked so I unticked it. Reset the Laptop and Router. Waited for a while but still can't connect. I can connect to the BT hotspot which is accessible from my house.

So it must be something related to my connection rather then my Laptop I guess.
Escaflowne2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:42 AM   #4
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Escaflowne2001 View Post
So it must be something related to my connection rather then my Laptop I guess.
Sounds like that might be a possibility? It might be time to reset the router and set it up from default settings again.

How old is your router and your dsl/cable modem? Is it possible that one, or both, are faulty, or do some items still connect to them without problem?
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:05 PM   #5
Chronos
fuggit
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 3,188
can other computers in the house connect via the router? Can you connect directly to the modem without the router? If i had to guess, I'd say faulty router.
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:54 PM   #6
Escaflowne2001
... ... ... ...
 
Escaflowne2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Thetford, Norfolk, England
Posts: 17,416
Oops I forgot i posted here. Well the problem was fixed though i still don't know what the problem was.

I took my Laptop over to my parents house to see if I could connect to there internet and it worked fine straight away. When I returned home and tried by Laptop again it connected here aswell.

Maybe connecting to a different network connection kickstarted something in my Laptop? don't really know. Well the important thing is it works now.
Escaflowne2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:45 PM   #7
stroopwafel
Praise the sun!
 
stroopwafel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,428
Sounds like it just needed to refresh the IP number :p
stroopwafel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.