The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 10:09 AM   #1
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
no sleeping dogs for xp...

i hadn't noticed this until just today. takes me back to when doom 3 didn't support win 98 and you had to upgrade to xp to play it. so is this the first title to shun xp?
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 08-27-2012, 10:24 AM   #2
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
Lots of titles shun XP now, and it was going to happen sooner or later, older stuff gets discontinued and un-supported, it's just how it goes. Only Directx9 is supported after all. At least you have Windows 7 to upgrade to, stay away from Vista and 8.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:46 PM   #3
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
yeah my ex had vista. what a piece of shit. i've got plenty of xp era games to get thru before i upgrade tho. at least now, i won't be buyin new shit before i finish the old! lol!
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:52 PM   #4
KingOfSentinels
Kossy
 
KingOfSentinels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Engrand.
Posts: 5,704
Well it's not like you can't play those games on Windows 7.
__________________
Currently Playing
'Too lazy to keep updating'
KingOfSentinels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:18 AM   #5
Badrats Studio
Hate it or Love it ヽ(̀ώ )ゝ✧
 
Badrats Studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Medan, Sumatera Utara, Republic Indonesia, South-East Asia
Posts: 4,271
With Windows 7 we also get Compatibility Mode to Windows version under it so upgrading to Windows 7 clearly the best option so far for you.
__________________
"That was my best friend. And you've just killed him !"
- quote from Superman / : Public Enemies
PSN ID : Rezqiano-INA
Currently Playing : Final Fantasy IX [PS1] - /random shit [PS3]
Badrats Studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:18 PM   #6
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
there isn't an "upgrade" option with 7 from xp last time i checked. how do i keep from losing all my shit and starting over again? that's the one major thing holding me back. is the xp compatibility mode still available on in the professional version or is it in the home version too?
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:20 PM   #7
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,485
What shit are you looking to save?
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:21 PM   #8
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
all my steam games/saves...
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:28 PM   #9
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,485
Steam on how to transfer games. But re-downloading them is your best bet once you upgrade:
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...7418-YUBN-8129

Forum topic on how to transfer saves:
http://forums.steamgames.com/forums/...php?p=16511843

Most of the saves are found in your 'My Documents and Settings' which is just called 'Documents' in the '~/Users' folder in 7.
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:48 PM   #10
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,122
most steam games use cloud storage, so most of them are probably already backed up. It recently got upped the limit to it, up to 1 gig.

But you can buy a upgrade windows 7 if you don't want to format your computer and crap. It will keep all of your files intact.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 12:32 AM   #11
Badrats Studio
Hate it or Love it ヽ(̀ώ )ゝ✧
 
Badrats Studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Medan, Sumatera Utara, Republic Indonesia, South-East Asia
Posts: 4,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by bujeezus View Post
is the xp compatibility mode still available on in the professional version or is it in the home version too?
Based on my encounter, Compatibility Mode on all Windows 7 versions covers all versions of Windows versions below it.
__________________
"That was my best friend. And you've just killed him !"
- quote from Superman / : Public Enemies
PSN ID : Rezqiano-INA
Currently Playing : Final Fantasy IX [PS1] - /random shit [PS3]
Badrats Studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:48 AM   #12
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drunken Savior View Post
Steam on how to transfer games. But re-downloading them is your best bet once you upgrade:
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...7418-YUBN-8129

Forum topic on how to transfer saves:
http://forums.steamgames.com/forums/...php?p=16511843

Most of the saves are found in your 'My Documents and Settings' which is just called 'Documents' in the '~/Users' folder in 7.
thanks DS.
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:08 AM   #13
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by spider-prime View Post
most steam games use cloud storage, so most of them are probably already backed up. It recently got upped the limit to it, up to 1 gig.

But you can buy a upgrade windows 7 if you don't want to format your computer and crap. It will keep all of your files intact.
the limited research i've done has shown it only keeps settings, etc. an not programs. gonna research it some more tho. would like to be able to use more than 3.85 gb (or whatever xp limit is) of ram.
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 01:12 PM   #14
spider-prime
NOW IN CINEMAPHONIC QUADROVISION!
 
spider-prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: I hated going to weddings cause all the grandmas would poke me saying "you're next, you're next". They stopped saying that when I did it to them at Funerals.
Posts: 22,122
that limit is cause it's a 32bit OS, if you buy a 64bit Windows 7 or even XP, it will show the full amount of RAM. The limit in 32bit can't go over 4 GBs, but for some reason, on some people's computer it only shows 3.25 gb or 3.85, etc.
spider-prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:11 PM   #15
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 843
i saw a funny quote on one of the overclocking forums i frequent.

"if it ain't broke, fix it til it is!"

hahahaahahahhaaa!!!
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.