The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2010, 02:51 PM   #1
Zachalmighty
Future Demon King
 
Zachalmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA, NJ
Posts: 3,742
KOTOR on Windows 7?

How doez I make it work?
__________________
An unavoidable war is called JUSTICE. When brutality is the only option left, it is HOLY.
Zachalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 06-22-2010, 09:12 PM   #2
eastx
The Fighting Bomber
 
eastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lake Jackson, TX USA
Posts: 4,566
When my son plays it on Windows 7 x64, the controls stop working every 5 minutes or so. They kick back on in a little bit. Alas, they are unlikely to patch such an old game.
eastx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 09:17 PM   #3
IoriYagami n8
Pinkerton
 
IoriYagami n8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: A steampunk fantasy land...
Posts: 2,959
I run it on Windows 7 x64 without any issues. But I do run the copy I purchased through Steam. There are a few hacks for the game, an important one for me being the widescreen hack. Some of them fix minor bugs as well. You may want to check into that.
__________________
Steampunk sex kittens!
IoriYagami n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 09:25 PM   #4
eastx
The Fighting Bomber
 
eastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lake Jackson, TX USA
Posts: 4,566
We're also running the Steam version. Must be some odd conflict. Yeah, I'll look for patches.
eastx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 06:41 AM   #5
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Sounds like nothing to do with the game and more to do with the system and possibly drivers or something.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 08:26 AM   #6
eastx
The Fighting Bomber
 
eastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lake Jackson, TX USA
Posts: 4,566
Nothing else gives us any problems and the drivers are all updated.... Dunno.
eastx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 11:07 AM   #7
progmetal
!
 
progmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,747
The joy of PC gaming.
__________________
Greater is He that is in you, than he that is in the world". AMEN!



Xbox 360 ID: progmetal (Silver)
PSN ID: Progmetal
progmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 11:16 AM   #8
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Yeah, kinda like the recent release of Blur that would freeze xboxs and ps3's when tryign to play online. Shame pc isnt as stable as that.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 11:22 AM   #9
Zachalmighty
Future Demon King
 
Zachalmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA, NJ
Posts: 3,742
Yeah, none of your solutions worked. The game runs for a minute tops in compatibility mode then automatically shuts down. Not a driver issue, not a directx issue.
__________________
An unavoidable war is called JUSTICE. When brutality is the only option left, it is HOLY.
Zachalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 11:26 AM   #10
progmetal
!
 
progmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard
Yeah, kinda like the recent release of Blur that would freeze xboxs and ps3's when tryign to play online. Shame pc isnt as stable as that.
I meant it in a positive way Alucard. Nothing like spending days getting a game to run, and the joy when you finally make it run. Can't have that special bond with the consoles.
__________________
Greater is He that is in you, than he that is in the world". AMEN!



Xbox 360 ID: progmetal (Silver)
PSN ID: Progmetal
progmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 11:38 AM   #11
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Its pretty bullshit when a game doesnt work on any platform. Damn things should be working before release but nooooooo.

You try running the game in both xp and vista compatibility mode? Theres people who have gotten the game to work with different methods. Some say install new graphic drivers and update kotor to latest patch and it'll work. Others say update kotor to latest patch and use a nocd patch and that gets it working. Try those.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 08:25 PM   #12
Sinful Sam
gnarf! gnarf!
 
Sinful Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Five min away from SavedFromSin
Posts: 8,754
Buy a 360!
__________________
Join our Discord channel!!!
https://discord.gg/htgtYqy


STEAM: Sinfulsam
PSN: Sinfulsam
Sinful Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 03:38 AM   #13
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,622
Dont need to! Friend leant me his since he's got 4 lololololollolol
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 10:46 AM   #14
Meticulous
the world wide web
 
Meticulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 278
Runs like garbage on the 360.
Meticulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.