The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2013, 01:04 AM   #1
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
PC Rebuild Photo Album: Antec 1200 to Fractal Define R4 Black Pearl

I've been wanting to switch out of my previous case (Antec 1200) into something smaller and more silent with less LEDs (even though they make PCs run faster). So I ended up deciding between the Corsair 550D and the Fractal Define R4 Black Pearl. The decision came down to 2 things: The R4 featured space for up to 6 140mm fans (bigger fans can move as much air as smaller fans at slower speeds, allowing them to run quieter) and that the R4 has 4 USB ports on the front (2x 2.0, 2x 3.0) while the 550D has 2x 3.0s.

After 5 hours, I disassembled my PC, cleaned out all the parts and reassembled it. And I got it to post in 1 try!

Click for full size

Here's the empty R4. The case comes with 2 140mm fans. I have plans on adding a water cooler inside and going back to my overclock of 4.5 Ghz (i7 2600K @ 1.29V).

Click for full size

So I moved the back fan to the front and added a Noctua AF14 FLX to the back. Noctuas are known for silence and nice CFM, and the notorious ugly color. Oh well, performance over looks in this case.

Click for full size

Here's the larger Antec 1200 next to the smaller Fractal Define R4 Black Pearl. You can see a huge problem I have with the 1200 here. All that damn cat hair! To clean the case, you have to open up both sides of the case and unscrew the fans out to access the mesh screen. Total pain! The R4 has a simple push-latch that exposes the screen. Also here you can see my Cooler Master 212+ air cooler (big silver thing) that allows my CPU to be OC'd but with max temps of 80C. I'm hoping water cooling might lower that!

Click for full size

Here's all the components of my PC. From left to right, top to bottom: Asus P8P67 Deluxe <REV 3.0> Mobo with CM 212+ air cooler, 4x 4GB 1333 G. Skill DDR3 RAM, EVGA Superclocked GTX 670 4GB, Hauppage Colossus (I don't recommend getting this), Encore Wifi card, BD-R drive, Corsair HX750 PSU, 2TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3, 1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 3, 1 TB WD Caviar Black SATA 2, DVD-RW drive.

Click for full size

5 hours after I started, all done! And it posted on the first try! So far it's running at the same idle temps as the 1200, going to test it on a load (encode a mkv) later. So far, I'm really happy.

Click for full size

And with the case closed up. The window does add to the noise that can escape...but I do like being able to peek inside without having to unscrew a side off. So it's a good tradeoff.
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4

Last edited by Drunken Savior; 10-10-2013 at 03:04 AM.
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Connect With Facebook to "Like" This Thread

Old 10-10-2013, 01:13 AM   #2
Badrats Studio
Hate it or Love it ヽ(•̀ω•́ )ゝ✧
 
Badrats Studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Medan, Sumatera Utara, Republic Indonesia, South-East Asia
Posts: 4,271
Beautiful monster.
__________________
"That was my best friend. And you've just killed him !"
- quote from Superman / : Public Enemies
PSN ID : Rezqiano-INA
Currently Playing : Final Fantasy IX [PS1] - /random shit [PS3]
Badrats Studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 09:41 PM   #3
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
Well, I can't perfectly explain it, but this case keeps my CPU about 6C cooler! I do miss having an eSATA port on the front of the case, but the tradeoff is worth is.
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 08:09 AM   #4
Sulblazer
Registered User
 
Sulblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
I like the cases where the PS vents from the bottom. Does it have a dust tray for there?
__________________
I'm always sketchy when mass of people come together for a common purpose...but what really frightens me is when they start wearing the same hats.
Sulblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:20 PM   #5
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
Dust Tray? I assume you mean a screen/filter and the answer is yes. You pull it out from the back and it covers both the PSU area and the 140mm fan area in front of it. Easily removable filters were a high priority for me. Since this goes under the desk, having it be removable from the side would have been better but it's not that big of a deal.
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:43 PM   #6
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,587
Very nicely done. A beautiful job on managing the cables. I wish my case was built with cable management in mind. I find to find my own tricks to make it all work.
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 02:42 PM   #7
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
Thanks man. Honestly the 2 best things for cable management is having appropriate extentions and cable ties.

I wish I was as enamored with my cable management as you are. All the tech forums I go to have 'cable management' threads that make my machine look like spaghetti.

Like this one:


Also, the insulation of SATA cables are the bane of my existence. So stiff.
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 04:00 AM   #8
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,587
Uuuugh that's some great tidying up there. I want to get that done for me but I don't honestly see how I could stuff all my cables behind the mother board tray like they can.
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 04:10 AM   #9
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
Makes me wonder why graphics card have their PCI-E ports facing the way they do (away from the mobo). What the shit...why!?
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 04:52 AM   #10
Joe Redifer
Olé!
 
Joe Redifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 20,029
It really is a shame you don't have as many LEDs as you used to. I added a few to mine and I can edit a video nearly twice as fast as I could before. I'm thinking of adding some angular shaped fans and some internal neon lights which illuminate the room through the angular vents to make everything even faster.

On a serious note why don't processors come overclocked from the manufacturer (AMD, Intel, etc)? Or do they? I don't see why the overclocked speed can't just be the real speed.
Joe Redifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 05:21 AM   #11
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
You should add a LED strip inside. You'll need to bolt the machine to the house foundation or it might just fly off, but it'll be worth it.

CPUs are certified to run at a certain speed by the manufacturer. Overclocking requires you to manually optimize how fast you want your CPU to run. To sustain that speed, you need to increase the voltage going to the chip. Increasing the voltage increases the heat, which can decrease the overall life. Overclockers will use specialty third party coolers to pull the heat from the CPU.

So instead of finding out the peak optimal speed of each CPU, CPU manufacturers just set them to run at a nice, safe speed using their cheap stock fans that allows for mass, automated, production at a profit.
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 11:40 AM   #12
bujeezus
Registered User
 
bujeezus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: deep south
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drunken Savior View Post
To sustain that speed, you need to increase the voltage going to the chip.
some times you can get away with just changing the fsb multiplier. i got an old Q9300 2.5Ghz overclocked to 3.4Ghz.
__________________
"I'll play almost anything but I won't finish almost anything there's a difference." Escaflowne2001
bujeezus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 04:39 PM   #13
Sulblazer
Registered User
 
Sulblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Nice water cooler. Those hoses look like their rubber. Was that stock or did you mod it? I have a smaller corsair H55 and the hoses are plastic with flexible ribs on them. Btw, what are your temperatures at idle and load?

**edit** oh...nevermind, that was just a comparison picture.**
__________________
I'm always sketchy when mass of people come together for a common purpose...but what really frightens me is when they start wearing the same hats.
Sulblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 03:26 PM   #14
Drunken Savior
Registered User
 
Drunken Savior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,488
IS NOTHING SACRED?
__________________

Games I'm hyped for
The Last of Us Part 2, RE2 Remake, The Last Night

Current Platforms:
PC (i7-7700K, 16GB, GTX 980Ti), Wii U, PS4
Drunken Savior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:15 AM   #15
arjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
thanks for sharing awesome post
also know watch hollywood movies online free streaming
arjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.