The MagicBox Forums  

Go Back   The MagicBox Forums > General Topics > PC / Games / Internets Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2006, 07:34 AM   #1
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
Your PC specs

Xp Media Center
AMP 64x2 3800+ (clocked at slightly over 5ghz in Intel scale)
2 Gigs ram (Running in whatever AMD's version of Hyperthreading is)
Roughly 450 Gb HD space
Nvidea 7600 GS 256mb DDR2 (PNY)
BTX case
7 Usb ports, 3 firewire
Dvd burner
Dvd rom
No clue what my Mobo is
Logitech MX1000 Laser Cordless Mouse
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 12:02 PM   #2
Antipilor
Predating Jesus by 1 mil.
 
Antipilor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 728
XP Pro
Amd Athlon 3500 (oced to 2.6)
ATI Radeon x1900xt
2gigs ram
100 gig HD
DVD burner
And a case with WAY too many lights on it to be in my room.
__________________
Refuse is our inspiration, Terrorism our trade
Sabotage and piracy, Chaos our mental state
In the age of super-boredom, Hype and mediocrity
Celebrate relentlessness, Menace to society
Antipilor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 01:57 PM   #3
Decado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,246
Nothing worth mentioning. I'm probably going to buy a new computer in conjunction with the big Intel Dual Core 2 price drop in January (which will hopefully reach Canada).
Decado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 03:09 PM   #4
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
AMD 3500
Geforce 6800GT
2gigs ram low latency
300gig hdd
Audigy 2 ZS
and some.....other ****.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 03:19 PM   #5
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
A few people with 2 gigs of ram. Are you guys maxed out at 2?
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 01:19 AM   #6
Alucard
Registered User
 
Alucard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 32,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catharsis
A few people with 2 gigs of ram. Are you guys maxed out at 2?
Technically on XP your games wont really notice too much performance difference after 1gig. Possibly up to 1.5gig but hardly anything. 2gig is perfect though for MMO's because of all the loading. Once Vista hits then yeah you can go over 2gig and it wont be a waste of money, unlike now. When I went from 1gig to 2gig I honestly noticed zero difference. Except in MMO'.
Alucard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 01:36 AM   #7
Vegetto
Alive
 
Vegetto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 9,399
installed means I bought it and installed it myself =D

AMD sempron 3400 2GHZ
1.5 gigs of ram INSTALLED
NVIDIA 7300 INSTALLED
400 gig hard drive INSTALLED
DVD drive/burner INSTALLED
CD drive/burner

had to buy a stronger power unit of course, its like 350 or 400 watt cant remember

and im still using a CRT monitor... ugh I need LCD
Vegetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 03:22 PM   #8
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,281
Here is the inside of my computer

__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 05:01 PM   #9
MarionetteKazuk
Problem?
 
MarionetteKazuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,832


__________________
Currently Playing: Team Fortress 2, Portal, Plain Sight, Sam & Max 104: Abe Lincoln Must Die

STEAM

Looking to make a Team Fortress 2 team. Pm me if interested.
MarionetteKazuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 05:29 PM   #10
Mistatee
Linguistic Massacre
 
Mistatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rain Central, WA
Posts: 4,838
AMD 64 3800+
2 Ggs of 1.5 Latency Ram
NVidia 7800GT GPU
Asus MoBo (PoS)
700+ GB HDD (300 gig, 180 gig, 250 gig) (was a dumbass should have gotten some for raiding instead of 3 random sizes)
No CPU fan (Thermaltake Super Heatsink)
Thermaltake Armor Case
Samsung DvD drive
Creative XiFi Soundcard


And Catharsis, you'll notice a lot of people at GB od ram, becuase anything above 2 GB doesnt seem to be a performance boost. So from there people begin to purechase lower latency (faster) RAM.
__________________
C'mon get back on your feet!
Mistatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 09:53 PM   #11
Reality
Sin and Punishment
 
Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarionetteKazuk
You didn't see anything!!
__________________
Outpostnine is that 1%.
Reality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 10:37 PM   #12
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
Have BTX cases started coming out in the Casemod market yet? I know there still kinda new, but damn do they work awsome. No need for super cooling kits anymore.
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 12:22 AM   #13
Antipilor
Predating Jesus by 1 mil.
 
Antipilor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 728
While the BTX boards work better than the atx boards for cooling, if your overclocking, btx simply won't be enough. We're talking about raising the cpu temp by 20 to 50 degrees (C). Any serious modder is still going to use a watercooling rig or ductwork system. Though we probably will see a rise in fanless systems thanks to the btx, which is great for those who REALLY hate the noise.
__________________
Refuse is our inspiration, Terrorism our trade
Sabotage and piracy, Chaos our mental state
In the age of super-boredom, Hype and mediocrity
Celebrate relentlessness, Menace to society
Antipilor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 12:27 AM   #14
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
My BTX is a duct system in a way. Nice thing is that my Ipod actualy makes more noise then my pc
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 01:28 AM   #15
Catharsis
FURIOUS Dan FTW
 
Catharsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 762
Well I do alot of multitasking, so 2 gigs is a must for the moment. When I have cash Im going for 4 gigs(max mine can take). Itunes + WoW + Websites + Chat apps + BT = need more rams.
__________________
I wish I could hate you to DEATH.

Armory Link
Catharsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.