PDA

View Full Version : Rumor: Doom III In 'Consideration' For The Nintendo GameCube?


Black Ace
08-22-2002, 01:09 AM
In Gamespot?s recent Video Interview with the CEO of ID Software (who will be releasing it?s latest installment to the Doom series, Doom III on both PC and XBOX) he talks about how easy it is port the PC version to Xbox and that the Xbox?s architecture is very similar to that of the PC. While he states that Sony?s Playstation 2 will not be powerful enough to run the visually amazing game, he states, ?there is some potential there, but there are a few technical questions we need to answer? when referring to any possibility of a port to the Nintendo GameCube. Since this is all just a little talk about the possibility don?t take it to seriously, but in the back of your head (and ours) it?s certainly something interesting to think about.

Grabbed from Nintendophiles.

PS2 is out of the question, not powerful enough. ;)

GameCube has a slight chance. :)

Vicviper
08-22-2002, 02:28 PM
This is good news for Nintendo fans. If I didn't already have a powerful PC than I would most likely go for the GC version

aneep
08-22-2002, 03:05 PM
heh

nice

-aneep-

Kid0_oIcarus
08-22-2002, 03:16 PM
Hmm.. very interesting.. I wonder...

Vash
08-22-2002, 06:47 PM
i'll be playing the PC version myself ... but having the gcube as an alternative could be nice for alot of people using compaqs, emachines, and the like.

Penance
08-23-2002, 10:25 AM
PS2 is out of the question, not powerful enough. ;)

Still doesn't mean it won't get it. I'd expect them to milk this game as much as possible. Other 2 are just better equipped for the job. Being that Carmack said the game could run on a mere GeForce256-equpted PC, I really don't see how this possibility came as a suprise to anyone... The only technical obstacle I see would be coping with the GameCube's lack of a single large block of RAM. Of course, some even more cumbersome political issues down the road may hinder a GameCube version. After all, Microsoft has a creative way of gaining exclusives...

Nindalf
08-23-2002, 04:21 PM
Agree

aneep
08-23-2002, 04:32 PM
yes

Doom3 will most probably appear on all 3 consoles, sooner or later

though off all 3, i think we can guess which one will get the best version

Doom3 can run on GF256, but anything lower than a GF3 and the game will fall back on software codepath for its lighting effects i think (which relies on pixel shaders and shadow buffer)

and of course memory concern, even Xbox with 64 megs of system memory have some raising doubt about its ability to run the game without requiring some levels to be split up (a la Max Payne)

PS2 have 32 megs of system memory

GC have 24 megs of system memory

-aneep-

cartman414
08-23-2002, 11:23 PM
Originally posted by aneep
yes

Doom3 will most probably appear on all 3 consoles, sooner or later

though off all 3, i think we can guess which one will get the best version

Doom3 can run on GF256, but anything lower than a GF3 and the game will fall back on software codepath for its lighting effects i think (which relies on pixel shaders and shadow buffer)

and of course memory concern, even Xbox with 64 megs of system memory have some raising doubt about its ability to run the game without requiring some levels to be split up (a la Max Payne)

PS2 have 32 megs of system memory

GC have 24 megs of system memory

-aneep-

What about the extra 16 MB and whatnot? Good point about the non-unified nature of the GC memory, which in this case may or may not hinder the possibility, but given that the GC was at all mentioned suggests that if approached creatively, the GC could pull it off. Maybe not in as much of a grand fashion, but still possible.

aneep
08-24-2002, 05:03 PM
i assumed u are talking about GC's A-ram (16 meg)?

the datapath to that is 8 bit@ 81 mhz, what do u expect out of them?

its primarily there for sound and caching, u can't store texture in them, well i don't think u can considering the slow speed

Factor 5 claimed u can store game executable in A-Ram, and so far i don't see why not, but that is just about as far as u can go

Doom3 will use up to 80 meg of textures per level if i remember correctly

i'm not claiming it can't be done though, on GC or on PS2
we'll see how it goes

-aneep-

Vash
08-25-2002, 02:34 AM
It wont be able to run on the PS2 in its current state because of a lack of V-Ram (only 4 mbs) ... the textures for this game are going to be huge ... if it were too appear on the PS2 it will probably look no where near as good as the Xbox version ... not to mention its going to use a "per-polygon" hit detection system ... that would be WAAAAAAAAY too much data to be streamed off the disc ...

i dunno how well the Gcube will fare because though its less powerful then the Xbox, the ATI designed video does use some interesting bandwidth saving techniques with its rendering ...

Dr.Nick Riviera
08-26-2002, 01:17 AM
Isnt this game still a year away from a pc release .

aneep
08-26-2002, 03:46 PM
John Carmack said that he hopes to release this game before e3 2003

work on Xbox version starts after PC version is finished, while Id evaluate other platforms for release

-aneep-

Kid0_oIcarus
08-26-2002, 04:29 PM
Amazon sez Doom ]|[ will ship out March 31, 2003. I am sure they would not lie.

/inserts obligatory "rolleyes" to signify sarcasm on that last part

:rolleyes:

Overlord
08-26-2002, 07:37 PM
Wasn't Max Payne cancelled for GameCube because there were a lot of RAM issues? And wouldn't Doom III be a lot harder to port then Max Payne?

Kid0_oIcarus
08-27-2002, 08:56 AM
See when they said RAM issues.. they meant money.. as in.. "we've been paid not to or they weren't paying us enough" ;)

I think Metroid Prime is going to put some things in perspective. If all accounts are right, this is going to be a beautiful title.

aneep
08-27-2002, 04:17 PM
RAM issue

that game was a resource hog on the PC, even the PS2 and Xbox version had to be cut up to fit into the memory (32 and 64 meg respectively, as i said earlier, GC have 24 meg)

Metroid Prime is a game specifically made for GC, it can be built around the limitation of the GC because its not going anywhere else, not a good comparison IMO to Max Payne, a PC title first, before it was ported to consoles

PC titles are almost always resource hogs

-aneep-

Kid0_oIcarus
08-28-2002, 08:52 AM
Well, you do have a point there. Even so though, it doesn't mean it couldn't be done... it just means that they would've had to redesign it with the GC hardware in mind (Which could take time, and would certainly not = a quick buck, which is what ports usually are)

happyokay
08-31-2002, 03:05 PM
No need for Doom 3 on GameCube.

Metroid Prime should be all good!

aneep
09-01-2002, 06:39 PM
more games is always better, don't u think?

-aneep-

Overlord
09-01-2002, 09:07 PM
John Carmack, head of id Software, announced earlier today at QuakeCon that a port of DOOM III would hit the Xbox sometime before next year?s E3, currently scheduled for mid-May. Carmack specified Microsoft?s machine as the only console that the company will port the highly anticipated FPS to, promising that none of the game?s graphical quality would be compromised. Work will begin on the DOOM III Xbox port as soon as the PC version is complete.

http://www.xboxaddict.com/

Kid0_oIcarus
09-02-2002, 11:54 AM
Well folks, there you have it! IT SI COMING!!!11! :D

Overlord
09-03-2002, 09:07 PM
Kid0_oIcarus:
Well folks, there you have it! IT SI COMING!!!11! :D

What does that mean? Are you using Spanish now? And it's not coming to GameCube, it's been announced exclusive to Xbox.

Kid0_oIcarus
09-04-2002, 08:55 AM
Well, duh :D

An no, by Jove! It was NOT Spanish, although I am aware that "si" is a Spanish word, I was merely trying to convey my sense of unabated fanboi excitement by purposely mispelling, and improperly capitalizing the word "is". This I would hope would have been cause for a few reader to perhaps chuckle or maybe even laugh in earnest. Thank you for missing my point entirely! :cool guy:

aneep
09-04-2002, 05:10 PM
hehe nice kid_icarus :)

Todd Hollenshead (id's CEO) haven't ruled out ports for other systems (and i expect it will be ported to other platforms), but they probably will hand it over to other software houses to handle the porting

i'm under the impression that Id will handle the XBox port themselves (going by Carmack's comments)

-aneep-

Overlord
09-04-2002, 11:04 PM
I'm a moron.