PDA

View Full Version : BroadBand / Dial up on PS2


menetas
04-18-2002, 12:03 PM
Broadband service is way too expensive where I live...
Also, my ping rate is so damn slow.. when i play on my Linux PC... RTCW for example...
I used to play PSO v1, i had great time and transmission was good... What can i expect on FFXI??? if i can't get myself a broadband service?

cheers!

Pikachu
04-18-2002, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by menetas
Broadband service is way too expensive where I live...
Also, my ping rate is so damn slow.. when i play on my Linux PC... RTCW for example...
I used to play PSO v1, i had great time and transmission was good... What can i expect on FFXI??? if i can't get myself a broadband service?

cheers!

Final Fantasy XI is fully compatible with narrowband, even when it was in the beta-testing stage last year.

blank
04-19-2002, 01:11 AM
i played tony hawk3 online for a few months using a usb network adapter and everything went just fine. the only difference was the amount of people one could have on a server. broadband allowed 4 dial up only 3. i dont think that'll be a problem for ffx1 or any other online game.

FRDrizzt
04-21-2002, 02:47 PM
In Japan if you have narrowband you just need the HD to play FFXI, and that may be the case to play other games, becasue it would be quicker to cache the data than to pull it off the network.

Rubeus
04-22-2002, 01:43 AM
Originally posted by FRDrizzt
In Japan if you have narrowband you just need the HD to play FFXI, and that may be the case to play other games, becasue it would be quicker to cache the data than to pull it off the network.

I thought you don't need the HDD if you have narrowband, you don't need to download anything from the net, all the game files are in the 2 DVDs provided (PlayOnline Starter Kit and FFXI). It is just like Phantasy Star Online for Dreamcast.

menetas
04-22-2002, 11:49 AM
whats a narrowband???
ive heard about PS2 HDD... never about a "narrowband"...

FRDrizzt
04-22-2002, 07:46 PM
Narrowband means a dial-up connection; not broadband.

Vicviper
04-24-2002, 07:17 PM
I will be going broadband forsure.
I missed out on the Broadband Adapter for the Dreamcast so I was stuck playing Quake 3 and PSO using dial up and it sucked. I was disconnected every 15 minutes.
You should try Cable modem. I've been using it and unless you are doing a lot of uploading than I think it's better than DSL

Overlord
04-24-2002, 07:26 PM
Narrowband is supported, but they won't get all the same features as brondband users. Such as in TM:B online. Broadband users can have a battle with 8 players at once. But for Narrowbrand, only 2 at a time will be supported.

...Thats the only game I know right now with the drawbacks.

kaiser_z
04-24-2002, 10:20 PM
lucky me, i set up my home network 1 week ago, and my ps2 is just drooling to get a piece of my dsl pie (although it will have to fight with 3 other of my computers, but it should still go way fast)
:D

menetas
04-25-2002, 07:48 PM
so what are my choices?
narrowband - just two players online?
broadband - lots of players online
dsl?? - what about this
cable modem - ????

Overlord
04-25-2002, 08:04 PM
So far only TM:B online is affected by differant online speeds.

...Narrowbrand is anything 56K and lower. Broadbrand is DSl, Cable, T1-2-3 etc. Anything faster than 56K.

menetas
04-26-2002, 02:41 PM
damn,
DSL service is like $40 US bucks per month in here...
how much is per month in the US???

pfk
04-26-2002, 05:12 PM
it costs me 45can$ a month here in quebec and i have a 10$ a month rebate!!!

can't wait to make my ps2 contribuate to that :)

menetas
04-26-2002, 07:03 PM
damn, is really expensive just to play...
i guess i cant afford that..
ill go ask for prices, i heard cable ISP wasn't that expensive... is that good??

pfk
04-26-2002, 07:15 PM
oops, i just realised you asked for dsl... i'm on cable

but for me it's worth it, i just can't stand narrowband

menetas
04-26-2002, 09:26 PM
hows the speed on cable? i mean, narrowband is 56k... how about cable?

pfk
04-26-2002, 10:04 PM
56k doesn't mean 56k/s, i beleive it's more aaround 5.6k/s...

depending on server you can get up to 150-250k/s, but it's mostly around 15-100k/s...

uploading is something different, i think i'm capped at 15k??? how shitty

menetas
04-28-2002, 06:18 PM
sometimes i get 115k in my connection, but i guess is Bullsh!!!t i cant see any difference between other times...

Pikachu
05-03-2002, 01:19 AM
Does the broadband connection work I share my high speed line between my PC and PS2? Is it possible to use the Internet Sharing featuring from Windows to share the line with PS2?

I read somewhere saying there are USB network adaptors for PS2, if it is available, can I use this instead of the Sony broadband adaptor?

pfk
05-03-2002, 09:13 AM
what i'm guessing is that with a Hub, you could splitt your connection between a PC ans a PS2...

cuz i can't imagine why you'd have to have only one connected at a time with a hub

i'm drooling over a wireless Hub right now, that's be nice to hane my ps2 wireless broadband :D

menetas
05-03-2002, 12:32 PM
yeah, and i heard wireless HUB are not that expensive...
I'll wait 'till sony comes up with more info, and if that's possible to use USB for network sharing, then ill buy that wireless hub and once for all, get that DSL service and use my linux debian as my router OS...
but we all depend on sony's decision on the broadband support...
:D :D :D

menetas
05-04-2002, 06:57 PM
i just phone called this prodigy service which in here is called "infinitum" and they offer a ADSL 256k transfer for about 50 bucks a month... do u think that will do for PS2 broadband adaptor?? and FFXI???

pfk
05-08-2002, 02:31 AM
don't know for sure but i'm pretty positive

menetas
05-08-2002, 11:49 AM
what the hell.. im calling right now to get subbed into infinitum.... 256k is pretty descent right?
i should ask first about an average transfer rate...

menetas
05-15-2002, 11:54 AM
is there any site where i can find info on the broadband adaptor?? i mean, i want to see whats the interface... some specs, if there's someone who shows a demo unit or somethn..
thanx..

Seska
05-20-2002, 06:41 AM
With 256 dsl you should get about 25k/s downstream (download) and about 15k/s upstream. If its ADSL these streams are asynchronous, which means that your upstream should not affect your downstream bandwidth, and vice-versa.

I use cable which technically meas meant to be 300, but I usually get about 35-40k/s on the downstream. I also hear that you get a better ping from cable than from DSL, so if you are into online gaming a lot, cable is the way to go.

menetas
05-20-2002, 01:55 PM
ok ill look into it...
i was about to sign up for ADSL... cable is not available in my zip code... but it will be in a few months... i wonder when this broadband unit will be available... will that support both? cable an ADSL???