PDA

View Full Version : Interview with Castlevania producer Koji Igarashi

baratus
09-20-2002, 01:53 AM
We speak with Symphony of the Night and Harmony of Dissonance producer Koji Igarashi to get his thoughts on the final version of Harmony and the future of the Castlevania series.

Just before the start of the Tokyo Game Show, we had a chance to drop by the Konami Computer Entertainment offices to speak with Koji Igarashi--the producer of Symphony of the Night and the recently released Harmony of Dissonance for the Game Boy Advance--and discuss Harmony of Dissonance, Circle of the Moon, and the future of the Castlevania series.
GameSpot: Can you give us a little insight into your background at Konami?

Koji Igarashi: I've been working at Konami for over 10 years. I worked on Twin Bee and Gradius II for the PC Engine, or the TurboGrafx, as it's called in the US. But the first time I got involved with the Castlevania franchise was with Symphony of the Night. I was writing storyboards for the game, and then halfway through development I took over direction for the game as well.

GS: Now that Harmony of Dissonance is available in both Japan and North America, what are your thoughts on the final version of the game?

KI: Castlevania fans were very excited when it was released, and I'm very happy about it, even though it hasn't been a huge hit in Japan.

GS: Were the game's developers able to incorporate all the ideas and content they wanted to?

KI: Well, after Symphony of the Night, a different Konami studio worked on the Castlevania franchise, and now that it's come back to Konami Computer Entertainment Tokyo, where Symphony of the Night was made. I really wanted to create a game that was similar to Symphony of the Night for the Game Boy Advance.

GS: How difficult was it to make that sort of game with the Game Boy Advance hardware?