PDA

View Full Version : DarknessTear's Unbiased Reviews

DarknessTearv2
07-21-2005, 10:47 PM
Mods may close the other thread. It got spammed and wouldn't look pretty if the first post wasn't a review.

Reviews:

Gamecube

Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door (On first page)

DarknessTearv2
07-21-2005, 10:47 PM
Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door

Alright, as most of you know, Paper Mario is an RPG series developed by Intelligent Systems (Paper Mario 1, Fire Emblem series). This is my first time really playing any of their RPG-ish titles and to say the least, I'm impressed.

The graphics are somewhat unique, they've obviously been used in the previous title but this is executed in a much nicer fashion. Some of the animations are very amusing to watch, for example: when you hit a blue exclamation block a bridge might appear. Well when it does appear, parts of the screen tear off to reveal a bridge in an interesting fashion.

Some other nice things about the graphics are how they kept it all to the paper thing. Nothing can escape the pop-up book look. Not even the dragons. They really do look like they're made of nothing but paper. So for this original look and style, no jaggies, clearness, beauty, sexyness. You get the idea.

Graphics: 10/10

Okay, definitely not secondary to the graphics is the gameplay. And was this ever a treat. The gameplay is turn based, but it doesn't stop at being turn based. It's much deeper than that. Each move you use is executed by completing tasks like pressing the A button quickly or holding the control stick left while little circles light up and once it reaches the final light you have to release the control stick to get the full unweakened hit. It's just like Super Mario RPG but a bit deeper.